Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Looking for varied cultural experiences!

United States


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s) – several cats including one that required insulin injections; two dogs

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 15 September 2017
Until: 17 August 2025


Consultant and writer


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am an author, mathematician, scholar and software developer and have done most of my work as a "lone eagle", writing and developing ideas, books and programs using my home and other homes or lodgings as unofficial offices in many locales, though for the last seven years I have been a visiting fellow at two universities in Hong Kong. I look for a quiet location, but with good internet connection and at least some ability to engage in sociable activities, as well as active outdoor experiences such as hiking to explore the surroundings when I am not writing and working. I like cats and dogs and enjoy their company when they are part of a house-sit.

Why they want to house sit

I find that I get the most enjoyment out of spending extended periods of time in different surroundings and different cultures, meeting new and interesting people of varied cultural backgrounds and exploring different settings and climes. House-sitting is a better way to enjoy this than staying in hotels and motels or even bed and breakfasts, because a house-sit often comes with an array of local friends, contacts and activities that can be recommended by the house owner, and the surroundings feel more homey and comfortable than commercial lodgings – all of that, and at minimal cost too! Though house-sitting involves performing chores, those help to give structure to the time, the same way chores at home do. I am currently embarked on a major book project that could take up to two years.

Their experience

I have house-sat for from one month to several months at a time in 2009-2010 in Ireland, Belgium, and France and can provide excellent recommendations. Three of the four house-sits involved caring for cats and one involved taking care of dogs.

What can they bring to the assignment

I bring a dedicated commitment to maintaining a home as my own and performing any and all tasks the assignment may involve diligently, completely and well.

Last updated: 16 February 2024

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 15 September 2017
Until: 17 August 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2008

Personal details

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since February 2008