Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Anglo-American Family in search of Global Literacy and middle school worldschooling for our 3 incredible kids in an increasingly confusing world

United States


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Fish

Police check

They have a police check


From: 1 December 2022
Until: 31 August 2025


University Associate Provost/Retired Naval Officer, Retired Marketing Executive


They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are a family seeking international experience for our children. We're not too picky about the house, it's location or associated expectations. Dean speaks French and English fluently, and is capable in Spanish and Portuguese. Mary teaches English as a second language, and is familiar with Greek and some Spanish. We love all fuzzy, four-legged or finned pets!

Why they want to house sit

Before we were married and as a couple, we each travelled extensively (90+ countries each) and lived in several countries in Europe, South America, and the Pacific. So we have had very international lives, but we find that due to our professions in the last decade, our younger children, aged 14, 11, 10, have not. Dean has now retired, and Mary will retire from her 2nd main career, but continue consulting online. We are going to homeschool the children through middle school and expand their outlooks with time abroad.

Our eldest (23) will not accompany us, although he may visit! He was born in the UK (Truro) and we lived there until he was ten. We also lived in Greece and Italy during his childhood.

Their experience

In travelling and living outside our home countries (US for Mary, UK for Dean)? Yes.

In managing a home? Yes. We have had several homes, but our current primary home is a 6000 sq ft 1879 Victorian on Lake Michigan. We love it! But an historical home like that takes time and money to keep going, so we've learned to fix things ourselves, to get ahead of problems, and to find joy in the simple pleasures of keeping a clean and happy home.

In caring for pets? Yes. Mary has always had cats, and Dean has always had dogs. We've had fish, both fresh and saltwater. Mary grew up owning a horse, and we are hoping to get chickens when the kids are in high school.

What can they bring to the assignment

Our rock solid reliability and experience in caring for your home and much-loved pets. We know what you're looking for, as we'll be looking for the same thing for our home! We will spend more time at home with your pets than most, as we'll be homeschooling. Mary was a US Naval Officer for 24 years and Dean was with the Royal Hong Kong Police. So we are rule-followers with over-developed senses of responsibility! Once we engage to work together with you, we won't let you down.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Brunei, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Availability dates

From: 1 December 2022
Until: 31 August 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2021

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Family with children

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 11 September 2022