Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired Veterinarian and Amazing Handyman Partner ready to care for your home and your beloved animal companions as we would our own

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – Pets continue to teach me about life every day so I look forward to the lessons your pets will teach us.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 15 September 2022
Until: 31 December 2023
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Veterinarian

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

My husband Gary and I live in Alaska. I have been a veterinarian for 35 years and am now on sabbatical. Our human family is grown up although we care for our sons’ dog Yeti while he is commercial fishing and we enjoy our Garfieldesque rescue cat Toni Maroni. We said good bye to our beloved dog Zippy last Spring and feel ready to start traveling and seeing more of the world again while embracing daily connection with animals through home sitting.

We are active outdoors enthusiasts and are non smokers, fully vaccinated for COVID-19 and available for extended or short stays.

Why they want to house sit

We both want to visit new locales after living at the end of the road in Alaska for many years. Making real connections with new people, cultures and community is how we envisage this time in our lives. Sharing our deep love and respect for animals and their people seems like a true place to start.

We want to help others by providing compassionate care for your pets while you are away and you can trust that we will care for your animal companions and home as if they were our own.

Their experience

Not in ‘official’ house sitting but compassionate animal care, absolutely. We are experienced travelers, we met backpacking in Chile 30 years ago and settled in AK. We have had our own homes in AK for many years and lived both on and off the grid with dogs and cats as important members of our family.

What can they bring to the assignment

My knowledge and understanding of animal health and well-being and the vital importance of the bond between you and the animals in your life. I bring an open heart filled with daily gratitude and joy, that I get to share my life with pets and their people. I hope to carry this from my clinical vet life to the house sitting world. I am multilingual - English, Spanish and French … and Irish.

Gary’s handyman and house maintenance skills are well established having worked as a glazier for years, building our home and our remote property.

We are grateful for the opportunity to be of service to others while having the privilege to take care of your home and animals.

We communicate well and are excellent at problem solving.

I am happy to take care of any special medical at-home needs your pet may have and communicating with veterinarians regarding care as needed.

Available to house sit

Canada, Caribbean, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 15 September 2022
Until: 31 December 2023

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
15 December 2022 to 10 January 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2021

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

Homer Alaska

I am writing this as another house owner. They have not sat for me but I have known them for over 15 years. Dots and Gary are the best people you will ever meet. They have the most amazing cabin they built themselves that is tucked into the woods in a very quiet area. They are easy going and friendly with long connections to the community. Any sitter should be relaxed and comfortable spending some time in their place.

Mike, United States, 13 November, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 19 March 2022