Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced mobile cat lady loves slow travel and new animal friends

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 25 April 2022
Until: 1 April 2025

Occupation

Freelance Writer/Virtual Assistant

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Quiet, independent, conscientious, non-smoking, freelance writer and virtual assistant with experience housesitting/petsitting (cats, dogs, house rabbits, chickens, ducks) as well as upkeeping my own country and city homes through the years. A bit of a natural homebody/hermit, I love to explore for a bit, then return to the sanctuary of home.

I live in Portland, Oregon, and am soon transitioning from my tiny apartment to full-time housesitting. I work from home and do spend much of my time there. I adore the tropics, unique/old/futuristic cities, a soft bed, and most of all, homes with a piano--and I also love variety :)

Why they want to house sit

I love animals, but can't currently make the long-term commitment to a pet. I also adore travel, and working online allows me some freedom of location, if also a modest income. I appreciate settling in to visit a place for weeks or months, and getting to know new animals in that time.

Portland was my home for 7 years, and I'm very ready for the change that full-time housesitting will bring. I enjoy my own company, but having pets around will make the experience all the more sweet and cozy.

Their experience

I petsat+housesat quite a bit on various platforms while traveling in 2013-2014, and here and there informally since then. I've cared for gardens and plants, as well. I signed back up with a few sites in January and have completed five sits, with a sixth and seventh booked here in Portland in April 2022, then an eighth and ninth in California. I have several excellent, recent reviews on another platform: https://www.trustedhousesitters.com/house-and-pet-sitters/united-states/oregon/portland/l/5758/

I grew up volunteering at the Animal Rescue League across the street, with various pets of my own--and, as an only child with working parents, they were my sole responsibility. At age 8, we moved away from a busy highway, and I was finally able to get a kitten. At the age of 12, I used my allowance savings to adopt a dachshund mix who'd caught my heart. These days, I take all the animal time I can get - animals have always been my people, so to speak.

What can they bring to the assignment

Enthusiasm, mindfulness, and gentle care.

A homebody at heart, I'm able to spend most of my time on your property, and to accommodate special situations. As a former country cottage-renter, and living on my own for the past 12 years, I'm used to caring for a house. I currently live in a city apartment, and manage all aspects of that kind of life.

I'm relatively handy, especially with older/quirky houses, yet know when to call in the professionals. I've also worked as an Airbnb turnover cleaner/caretaker, which involved maintaining a large summer garden.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 25 April 2022
Until: 1 April 2025

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 6 April 2022