Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

House Sitter Available January 2022 - April 2023

Canada

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish – I LOVE getting to know pets and helping them feel at ease while their "people" are away.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 26 August 2022
Until: 22 August 2023
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired Video Journalist & Seasonal Bed & Breakfast Host

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a retired video journalist and these days I do seasonal work (May -October) managing a heritage B&B on Vancouver island in Canada. For the remaining months, I love to explore the world slowly and house-sitting is a wonderful way to feel "part of" in a new place.

Why they want to house sit

I LOVE playing "housey" in different places and getting. to know knooks and crannies around the planet. It is THE best way to slow travel and exploring. I feel very lucky to be in a postion to be able to go just about anywhere at a drop of a hat - within reason!

Their experience

Yes I am. My latest assignment was in Chacala Mexico minding a sweet rescue dog, Canelo, a deaf pug named Bella and a gorgeous feline, Tiggy. I have done various other house-sits in my home town for friends going on trips.

What can they bring to the assignment

I bring common sense and a good work ethic and a desire to please and follow the rules set out ahead of time. I pride myself on homeowners knowing their property and pets are in excellent hands. Plus I am all about communication and I provide daily video and pictoral updates especially with pets!

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 26 August 2022
Until: 22 August 2023

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
1 May 2022 to 29 October 2022

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Stellar Sitter who went Above and Beyond!

Marjorie filled a very job description at no cost to me other than giving me complete peace of mind while I vacationed on the other side of Mexico. The house sit/ pet sit would have been an easy one with care of an indoor/outdoor cat named Tiggy and an older pug named Bella. Minimal walking needed, easy to feed both, no special care needed BUT THEN I rescued an adult BIG dog 3 weeks before my week away and need for a pet sitter. Good heartedly Marjorie accepted the challenge which added a whole different dimension to the "sit." Canelo, the big red dog, wanted to eat my cat and probably would have bit Bella's head off had she approached his feeding bowl! Marjorie successfully followed a routine of feeding animals that kept them all safe and out of each others' reach and gave medicine each evening to the rescue dog for a tick borne disease he had acquired during his years of abandonment on a busy street in Mexico. She took the dogs on 3 walks a day, actually basically more like 5 to 6 walks as she did a short walk early AM as Bella, at 13 yrs old, just wanted a walk around the block and then to eat and sleep. After their breakfast she took Canelo on a long walk and did this 2 to 3 more times a day and still fit in the short walks with the older pug. Besides caring for my furry friends exceptionally well, Marjorie really liked them. House was immaculate when I returned to it after my week away. Furry friends and garden all in tip top shape. Marjorie is an absolute GEM!

Jill, Mexico, 20 March, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 26 August 2022