Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Catman - A cat oriented handyman

United States


They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Goat(s)

Police check

They have a police check


From: 15 May 2023
Until: 5 July 2025


Technology Support Specialist


They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

I am a technology professional on a sabbatical from my career. I am currently halfway through a year long leave from thirteen years in technology support and I am looking for a quiet location in Portugal or Spain in order to develop some business plans to transition to a digital nomad lifestyle. While I am interested in most European locations, I am particularly interested in Portugal as I am planning on property purchase and residence. I am currently 53, have never smoked, and enjoy tranquil country settings and gardening over urban nightlife. I have very few requirements beyond a decent internet connection and am typically very flexible regarding schedules.

Why they want to house sit

I am particularly interested in a house-sit as I am not a fan of hotels and typically prefer quieter locations with a more home type of feel. I will typically air-bnb or rent long term but prefer work-trade situations with actual homes and locations that retain a local vibe rather than a touristy feel. I am also interested in sitting due to the concerns I've had in the past regarding my own pets. It's very important to me that my own cats get to stay in their familiar surroundings and I have always despised the thought of placing my family members into a strange location or worse, a kennel of some kind. I know other "cat people" feel similarly.

Their experience

I am very experienced in both animal care, house care, and property management..
I retain nearly a decade of professional landscaping, gardening, and stonework skills in addition to all facets of home restoration. There are typically no incidents home-wise that I cannot handle personally and creatively..

What can they bring to the assignment

I bring a natural rapport and substantial experience with cats. While I am capable and comfortable with all animals, friends and family have labeled me the "Catman" due to my ability to bond quickly and speak the feline language. I also may bring a peace of mind with my ability to troubleshoot and fix nearly any problems that arise in a household or off-grid property. To summarize, I will care for your home and pets as if they were my own as I'm well aware of the type of anxiety that can come with leaving both behind, even for a short time.

Last updated: 18 April 2024

Available to house sit

Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Availability dates

From: 15 May 2023
Until: 5 July 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0


Great and caring house sitters!

Herb and Andrea looked after our animals perfectly and, with special treats for the cats, and extra long walks for the dog, I think they are sorely missed already! We would not hesitate to invite this couple to stay again. Your home and your animals will be in very safe hands with Herb and Andrea. Highly recommended.

Fiona, Portugal, 24 November, 2022

  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Friendly

Reliable and enthusiastic land-sitter

Herb was a really great sitter for my cat and vegetable plots. He cared for my cat like his own, with lots of care and hugs which I really appreciated, as my cat's very social. Herb also did a great job looking after all my veggies and even did some incredible stonework around the land which was such a nice surprise! Thanks Herb for investing so much energy in this place. I can wholeheartedly recommend him to look after your cats and home!

Chloe, Portugal, 23 June, 2022

  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since March 2022