Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Writer & artist, meditator & house sitter

United States


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Fish

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 1 May 2022
Until: 1 May 2023
(see their busy times below)


Professor, writer, and artist


They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Hello, friends! I am new to house sitting, but I am really excited about this wonderful opportunity. I am a history professor, a published author, and a visual artist. I am a beadworker -- I make mixed media portraits of my ancestors and family members. I'm inspired by landscapes, by Indigenous arts, and by history. I am 51 years old, I have a son who is a university student, and I am a world traveler. I practice daily meditation in the Zen tradition. I love to walk, swim, and read.

What am I looking for in a house sit? I am open to both urban and rural places, cozy and comfortable homes, and a relatively short-term house sit. I would ideally prefer 1-2 week opportunities. Because I have the option of teaching my courses online, I would need a stable and reliable wifi service. An "off-grid" situation would not be best for me. I would also be grateful for a dining room table or a desk at which to write and sketch. I am open to house sitting opportunities in the US and abroad.

Why they want to house sit

I want to house sit for many reasons, the first of which is that I truly enjoy traveling but I do not enjoy hotels! When I travel, I seek to understand how locals live. I seek mostly quiet experiences and solitude; house sitting gives me the opportunity to spend time with myself, to journal and write, read, relax, and hopefully give love to another person's home and/or pets. I am a homeowner and my home is a sacred and safe place. I will treat another person's home with the same reverence and respect.

Their experience

I am technically new to this kind of house sitting network, but I have varied experiences. I have cared for the homes of friends and professor colleagues here in the US and in Haiti, Cuba, and Vietnam. In Taiwan, I lived as a resident in a Zen monastery; I was responsible for caring for newly planted trees and cleaning an entire floor of the residential hall, twice per day. In Japan, I cared for a small Buddhist temple; again, my duties were to care for the garden and to clean the main meditation hall. In these spaces, I was welcomed and entrusted with the care of sacred spaces -- this was and is an honor for me. I am really excited for the opportunity to house sit.

At this time, I have no testimonials because I am new. But I hope that I will be given the chance to acquire these. I do have references who will be available upon request.

What can they bring to the assignment

I am a responsible and conscientious human being. As a long-term meditator, I live my life quietly, compassionately, and thoughtfully. As a university educator and a writer, I spend much of my time in contemplation. So, I believe what I bring is a calm energy and an unquestionable respect for another person's home. I have immense gratitude for the many times in my life that I've been welcomed into other people's spaces.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 May 2022
Until: 1 May 2023

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
1 April 2022 to 30 April 2022

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 4 April 2022