Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Artist, gardener, animal lover seeking long, happy, sunny house-sit

Australia

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Farm animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 7 July 2024
Until: 31 October 2025

Occupation

Artist

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello, I am an artist who usually lives and works on a farm by the sea on Bruny Island, Australia.

I bring a calm, happy, creative spirit backed up by solid experiences caring for animals and maintaining gardens and homes. I have travelled solo extensively throughout the world. I am married to a musician and we have wonderful grown daughters and a beloved dog called Suki, a 6-year old Lab/poodle.

When I travel I am interested in art, architecture, walking around cities, exploring the countryside/coast, local mythology, healthy food and a calm and beautiful place to stay.

I don't smoke or drink and I eat a vegan diet and value a peaceful and beautiful living environment. I am usually tucked up in bed with a book by 10pm and up with the sun. Love to spend my days writing, walking and exploring. Even better if I can do this with furry friends at my side.

Why they want to house sit

I love my remote farm on a tiny Island but also crave connection to the wider world and get this by travelling each northern Summer. I can think of no better way to immerse my self in a new place than living in a real home and caring for an animal/garden.

Having recently retired from University teaching, and with my adult children no longer at home, I am free to explore the world for longer periods of time. I have a year long writing research project that I can work on remotely, I have been on many Artist residencies around the world, I miss the companionship of animals and the sanctuary of a home. Moreover I am keen to escape Southern Hemisphere winter and head somewhere hot. My partner is still a lecturer so he is bound to stay home with our dogs while I can come and look after your pets as if they were my own :).

Their experience

Along with caring for my own dogs and cats I have sat for : a 3 legged cat, 2 Burmese cats, a 20 year old cat!, a lop rabbit, a Bennet's Wallaby, a tree frog, 30 Guardian Finches, 2 Mini Dachshunds, a Border Collie, a Standard Poodle, various chickens, 2 tortoises and am part of our Island dolphin rescue.

I am also a keen gardener, living on an isolated Island I grow most of my own vegetables, maintain our watering system(rain water-tanks/pumps/and dams), tend our olive grove and fruit trees and try and keep our 150 acre property free from invasive weeds. I also love house plants and have way too many inside and value and care for them :)

What can they bring to the assignment

I bring with me a calm, happy, creative spirit backed up by solid experiences caring for animals and maintaining gardens and homes. I have travelled solo extensively throughout the world and thoroughly enjoy the challenges and wonder of experiencing new ways of living. I am very happy to have a video meet up and to answer any questions you may have for me.

Last updated: 7 June 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Fiji, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 7 July 2024
Until: 31 October 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

Reliable, friendly and communicative

We were lucky enough to have Veronica mind our property for several weeks over summer 2023. She was very kind to our two cats and two tortoises, and gave us regular updates on their wellbeing. She was also diligent about watering the plants. In addition, her attitude was friendly and positive. We have no hesitation in recommending Veronica for any future house sits, and would have her back again in a heartbeat. Thanks Veronica!

Suzanna , Middle East, 22 August, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since April 2022