Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

The best possible care for your sanctuary and loved ones

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Tortoise/Turtle(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s) – I have a lot of experience with older and disabled animals.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 8 May 2022
Until: 31 August 2023

Occupation

Writer

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hi, I'm Xan and I love to have new experiences, which is one of the greatest reasons I'm a housesitter. I am passionate about community building, microbiology and creative, innovative expression. I am a creative consultant and writer, so I am extremely fortunate to be able to set the pace of my obligations. I absolutely adore animals, particularly cats and dogs, but also have a soft spot for cheeky lizards, birds and frogs and of course farm animals too! I just threw a sweet 16 party for my cat best friend Joey who is staying comfortably with our loved one while I explore for a few months to focus on my work.

Why they want to house sit

I'm working on a creative writing project for a few months, so I am looking for some quiet time in novel settings to keep it rolling. It would be great to experience some new places and cultures, and I'm also open to keeping it a bit closer to home for some time to keep it really simple. Because my main focus is my creative work, I will for the very large part be staying with the house and animals, with only a day trip every now and then to keep a foot in the world around me. I truly appreciate having animals around to care for and keep company, it gives me such joy to play with, love on and sleep with those sweet souls. I take deep pride and pleasure in being a caretaker people really feel secure with, knowing their loved ones and loved places are in kind, caring and responsible hands. I have been a home owner and longtime pet owner, so I know first-hand how stressful and vulnerable it can feel to leave a stranger with your sanctuary. Luckily, I'm an excellent communicator, will always ask questions to clarify that we are on the same page in every way, and also very capable of handling anything that comes up.

Their experience

I have house-sat, baby-sat and pet-sat for friends and friends-of-friends for 30 years. As I've said, I just love animals and feel privileged to be around them. In caring for animals, nothing much phases me, having had and taken care of old animals, baby animals, rambunctious animals, timid animals, rescued animals and sick animals, so shots, pills, extra care, accidents.... it's all ok and they will be ALWAYS be treated with love, kindness and patience. I'm also skilled in keeping firm boundaries with gentleness. I'd say cats are my specialty (I tend to get along well with even the most aloof and finicky felines), but I do great with dogs of all kinds and have some good experience with just about everyone else in-or-outdoor (fish, birds, snakes, chickens, goats, etc.) As far as home care, I am reasonably tidy, keep things clean, and I am always very respectful and mindful of house rules and practices. I keep calendars, spreadsheets and reminders to make sure I promptly attend all the required tasks like plant care, garbage, etc. Your home will be comfortable and clean when you return, and stocked with the essentials! I'm no plant expert, but I can keep a watering schedule and pick up after them, and do have great green friends that I can call with questions that come up (is it supposed to be that color?) Recently, I was a caretaker on 5 acres of land with a house under construction, a pool to clean and chemical and lots of land management, project management, weeding and grass to mow, so I have tons of experience with that sort of outdoors work. Though I'm new to this site and method of getting house-sits, I'm so excited to connect into a mutually-beneficial arrangement!

What can they bring to the assignment

I'm reliable, trustworthy, experienced, communicative, kind and bright. I caretake because I care.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 8 May 2022
Until: 31 August 2023

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 25 April 2022