Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced animal & garden lovers, happy to care for your home as our own

Mexico

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Reptile(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 24 August 2022
Until: 31 January 2024

Occupation

Retired Educator

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hi, I'm Dave with Marty. I'm a retired educator, having worked in Massachusetts and California for 32 years.

I have always had one or more dogs (German Shepherds, Rottweilers, a Yellow Lab and currently a rescued Wheaton Terrier) and frequently a cat of the Siamese or barn variety. I have also had more than a decade riding trail horses, Quarter Horse, Missouri Fox-trotter, and Arabians. Grooming, feeding, washing, mucking stalls and pastures, and cleaning hooves are second nature to me.

As a long-time distance runner (no pun intended), I welcome dog walks as a cool-down from long runs. I am sensitive to the need to be the Alpha in the pack and handle dogs with firm kindness. I've also had a pet snake and safely wrangled a few Diamondback Rattlesnakes on the ranch and on trails.

My partner, Marty, is a property manager and sits with me. She also loves pets and has had them all her life (lots of dogs, and some cats, rabbits, snakes, fish, hamsters, and lizards). She's also an enthusiastic plant lover with a green thumb.

We are based in Mexico and enjoy traveling and learning about different cultures. I speak English and Spanish, while Marty understands French and speaks English, and Spanish fluently.

We also mountain hike on a regular basis and enjoy being outdoors, so if your pet needs exercise it is a welcome activity for us. Our Wheaten Terrier, Baxter, is 15 years old and has excellent health.

Why they want to house sit

Marty and I have travelled and lived abroad for many years. We believe pet and house sitting is a unique way of experiencing other cultures, regions and local customs in an authentic and unhurried way, not as tourists but as honorary residents.

Their experience

We have served in home and pet sits for several years and now we are excited to join this wonderful community of trusted travelers and pet lovers, both as home owners and pet sitters.

What can they bring to the assignment

Caring for our host's home, pets and plants is a way of of thanking them and reciprocating for opening their homes to us.

Caring for your pets and giving them our love and attention, as if they were our own, are experiences that we enjoy and that make our stays special and memorable.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, South Africa, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 24 August 2022
Until: 31 January 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 24 April 2022