Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Reliable experienced couple from the Isle of Skye, Scotland

United Kingdom


They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Cat(s) – We're happy looking after cats

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 1 December 2023
Until: 1 May 2025


Community development consultant


They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Hello, We are Andrew and Maggie, a mature non-smoking couple who have traveled and lived in several countries, but who have called Scotland's Isle of Skye home for over 20 years. We are both self-employed, Andrew works in rural community development, while Maggie has a successful ceramics studio and gallery shop. We're at a stage in our lives where we can take time out to explore a bit more of the world.

Why they want to house sit

We love to experience different countries, cultures and really 'get under the skin' of a place in a way that you can't just do passing through as a tourist. We are both fortunate to be at a stage in our careers where we self-directed, and can take time out, or work remotely. House sitting is a good way to experience a short taste of life in a different country, language and culture.

Their experience

We house-sat a large farmhouse in France for 11 months in 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of 'La vie Francaise'. We always said we'd do it again sometime, and in 2022 we house sat again in SW France, looking after a house and veg garden for a month. In 2023 we cat-sat two adorable cats Haut Savoie, France. Please see our 2 MMH testimonials. We speak enough French, Italian, Greek and Japanese to get by, and we have a lot of practical skills (gardening, DIY, etc.) through managing our own house, workshop and gallery on Skye. We have both looked after cats before, but are currently pet-free.

What can they bring to the assignment

Reliable, trustworthy and level-headed, we have a lot of practical skills relating to managing property. We also love animals, gardening, walking, cycling and being outside. We're foodies, interested in authentic culinary traditions, wild harvests and foraging in the countryside. We're used to getting by in other countries and other languages.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 December 2023
Until: 1 May 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Great choice for house (and cat) sitters

Andrew and Maggie were excellent house sitters. They are friendly and outgoing, and established a great rapport with our two cats. We were kept regularly informed about our cats (and their doings) throughout their stay. The chalet was kept in good condition; clean and tidy. They are extremely well organised, and able to be flexible when needed. I would be very happy to have them again and would recommend them to anyone.

SJ, France, 03 October, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

Two safe pairs of hands to leave the house in.

Maggie and Andrew are both great communicaters leaving us in no doubt that they shared the same views on lifestyle, ecologically focused and sharing a love of plants and vegetable gardens especially when told to eat as much as they could and so continue to produce. Despite having to combat temps of 35-40C the veg garden was in extremely good health upon our return a month later. The veg had been processed and put in deep freezers for our winter food.We had also left a mountian of split wood which heats our house. Maggie had used the ride on mower and small trailer and had by herself moved and stacked 12 tons of logs!!!!! They had also ongrown new winter veg plants which were ready for us to plant out. Nothing was a problem for them except not being able to buy petrol as the refineries in France were on strike!! A lovley meal awaited us on the return. It was a real pleasure meeting them and would wish them to return and mind the house again. A great couple.

Patricia, France, 24 October, 2022

  • Tidy


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 14 November 2023