Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired nurse with extensive pet care experience seeks new animal friends

United Kingdom


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s)

Police check

They have a police check


From: 1 February 2025
Until: 1 February 2026


Retired Mental Health Nurse


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello there! Having recently retired from my job as a Community Psychiatric Nurse within the National Health Service (UK), I find myself blessed with the freedom and opportunity to venture into the wider world and pursue that which I love and am passionate about ie. animals, travel and new experiences. I’m currently volunteering for the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds in the Orkney Islands, helping with the management and conservation of nesting birds and bumblebees on a number of reserves spread across the islands, primarily Hoy and Orkney.

I am by nature a kind, compassionate and considerate individual who can be relied upon to take great care of your home and pets. I don’t smoke and live very peaceably in my own company. I am open to considering all possibilities regarding house/pet sitting, helping out with projects of any sort, and generally giving of myself to assist and support in new, novel, and/or interesting and yet to be explored ways. I am also quite good with house plants and gardens. My ideal length of stay would be from one month upwards, depending upon location and what it is you are seeking in your choice of sitter.

Interests: Reading, walking, playing the guitar, gardening, cooking, music and live performance, theatre, travel, time spent in nature, painting (mostly oil’s & acrylic). I am a spiritual person with no religious affiliation who respects all beliefs, persuasions and beings…………human and non-human.

Why they want to house sit

After much contemplation I have finally found the courage to turn the page in life’s journey and pursue that which brings happiness, joy and a sense of adventure to my life. So here I am offering myself up to fate and new opportunities. Taking care of your home and your pets will give structure and meaning to my days. Your pets happiness and security will be of upmost importance to me and I will always endeavour to ensure their normal rhythm and schedule in order to minimise the impact of your absence, and help them feel safe and secure in my company. With this in mind I will be sure to spend time with them, let them get to know and trust me, and intuitively adapt to their needs throughout my stay. Scheduled (and spontaneous!) walks and hikes, tailored to your dogs ability and needs, will be a part of the daily routine, providing a welcome companion on the trail and further opportunity to bond. All your pets needs will be met with thoughtfulness and kindness, and great consideration given to their individual personalities, likes and dislikes.

Their experience

As a child I was brought up with an array of pets including: dogs, cats, gerbils, the obligatory hamster, tropical fish, an extremely vocal cockatiel, guinea pigs and rabbits. As an adult I have always loved the company of animals and had the great good fortune to have many truly amazing and quite magical relationships with them all, primarily cats and dogs, although there have been a good few chickens along the way.

I am also quite good with house plants and gardens, pretty handy with a screwdriver and know my way around a tool kit. My initiation into all things DIY beginning just as soon as my father could have me hand him a nail or tend to any other job he thought it within my wits to perform. I also spent 6 years working on a renovation project in my twenties and can turn my hand to most practical jobs.

What can they bring to the assignment

I’m a trustworthy, conscientious and considerate chap, who can be relied upon to look after your none human friends and home with great care and respect, and should very much welcome the opportunity to do so.

Last updated: 6 June 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 February 2025
Until: 1 February 2026

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since July 2022