Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced solo sitter and writing nomad

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 1 February 2023
Until: 4 May 2024

Occupation

Freelance editor and writer

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a responsible, self-sufficient woman who has recently quit a successful career in book publishing to pursue other interests and live a more balanced existence, closer to nature. Over my adult life I have gained a diverse range of experience, from working in a large kitchen garden, running my own air bnb businesses, pet sitting, teaching yoga and even the odd bit of cleaning for elderly neighbours. I love meeting new people, but I also thrive on time alone, particularly as I am trying to write a novel at present (!) Although I have no children of my own I am very involved in my three nieces’ lives and am a busy godparent. I am resourceful, cheerful and independent.

Why they want to house sit

A house sit for me is about seeing new places and trying out different ways of living, hopefully with some time to write.

Their experience

I have experience on both sides of housesitting - I have housesat before and I have also had people house sit for me, so I know how it feels and how important it is for you to be able to trust someone. I have also run my spare room (I own a house in the U.K.) and a flat in London as air bnb businesses, so I know how to look after guests and a property. I am pretty handy with a drill and basic plumbing - my father is a builder and I learnt from him. I have dealt with all kinds of problems in my own home from broken boilers to installing insulation.

What can they bring to the assignment

I am a self sufficient and resourceful person, practical and reliable. I would try not to bother you at all while you were away, and you’d be able to trust me to make good decisions, but also know when to consult you. As mentioned above, I am good at basic DIY - I made my own shed recently. I love animals and regularly pet sit for cats and dogs in my area, as well as having my own cat Lily. I know how important it is to feel like your beloved pets are being cared for. I have had multiple positions of responsibility, from running a team to mentoring to doing reading with school children.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 February 2023
Until: 4 May 2024

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 28 October 2022