Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Well travelled retiree with loads of gardening and pet experience looking to allow you to get away with the assurance that your home and animal friends are well cared for



They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Reptile(s) – I have volunteered at an animal sanctuary so have minimal experience with pigs, llamas and goats.

Police check

They have a police check


From: 25 June 2023
Until: 16 March 2025




They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

From Menopause to Mongolia is the name of the blog my friend and I created to share our stories while travelling for 6 months a few years ago. We both quit our jobs, bought backpacks and planned our itinerary. We started in Mongolia and ended in Iceland. I have travelled extensively for over 41 years in my own country, Canada, as well as many other countries in the world. I love to immerse myself in an area and get to know the local people, customs, history and cuisine. I am now retired and have reliable cat sitters for my rescue Abba. In order to support my desire to experience the world, I can offer you an honest, compassionate, reliable and trustworthy individual who will treat your home and critters like my own.

Why they want to house sit

I started looking into housesitting abroad about 7 years ago and dreaming of the day I could retire and be a part of the community of sitters. While there is the appeal of cost savings for accommodation, the opportunity to explore places I might never consider is more important to me . If a mutually beneficial relationship develops, everyone's needs are met.

Their experience

I have been a homeowner and pet lover for 42 years. I have tended my own large gardens, housed a greenhouse full of orchids, had 3 dogs over the years, many cats, saltwater aquariams, a rescue Indian ring necked parakeet, lovebirds, budgies and ducks. I have been a housesitter for friends and family from a few days to a few weeks. I have also completed one house and pet sit for a homeowner from this site.

What can they bring to the assignment

My career has been social work in a wide variety of settings. This has fostered a deep compassion for people, a curiousity about the people I encounter in life and a desire to learn about the culture and history of an area. With these characteristics, I also bring a wealth of experience and skills adapting to new environments. I understand enough French to get by, but my spoken French leaves a little to be desired.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Availability dates

From: 25 June 2023
Until: 16 March 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Fantastic house and pet sitter

Shelley house and pet sat for me in Italy This Jan- March. She loved and cared for my dog and cat .The dog got to go on various beach and town adventures with her ,and I could tell he loved Shelley. I came home to an immaculate house. She kept in regular contact with me whilst I was away sending me pet updates and photos. She even gave me a lift to the airport when I was leaving and cooked me a dinner before I left. We will remain friends. I highly recommend Shelley to look after your pets and property.

Claire, Italy, 07 April, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 4 August 2023