Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Friendly,caring,reliable,flexible house/pet sitter

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 30 December 2022
Until: 12 November 2024

Occupation

Teacher

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am independent, very flexible, reliable and kind! I have quite simple needs and adapt to new situations easily. I would prefer a rural location, ideally near woods (for cover when it's raining or too hot!)and water! I have my own dog, a lovely, playful, sociable collie so I understand that meeting up beforehand would be important if the house-sit involves dogs. Having said that, Rosie herself also has good reviews on my Rover profile! Re me being a newbie and as yet having no testimonials-I know that when looking for an airbnb, for example, I tend to go for ones with reviews..but I do occasionally go for ones without..and have been glad I have!

Why they want to house sit

I mainly want to house-sit to spend time travelling, getting to know new areas.I love travelling! I have really enjoyed having dogs boarding with us and now that I am in the process of selling my house, it feels like a natural next step! My ideal day would be walking and playing with dogs and then reading, so quite simple needs really! Throw in a rural location, and I am extra happy!

Their experience

For the last few years, I have been providing dog-sitting and boarding through 'Rover' and have gained a lot of very positive reviews and repeat customers, several booking outside of Rover (see https://www.rover.com/members/nicola-r-flexible-help-for-your-furry-ones/) I have the relevant insurance in place through Protectivity.I also have long-term experience walking friends and family's dogs, as well as a lot of experience working in animal rescues abroad and in this country. I love walking so long walks are of no problem at all! I also have house-sitting experience through workaway, when hosts have been absent and have left me in charge of their homes and workplaces. I have a profile on workaway as a workawayer, where I have several good testimonials //www.workaway.info/en/account/workawayer (I think you need to be a potential host to view them). Through workaway, while working at rescues, I learned a great deal about positive reinforcement, which I have put into practice while volunteering at rescues in this country and with my own dog, of course and believe fully in it's benefits. I can, of course, be relied upon to look after your home as well as your pets. As a teacher, I am DBS checked and can provide references to vouch for my reliability, flexibility and love of animals.

What can they bring to the assignment

I can bring love and care into your home. I delight in the company of animals and their wellbeing comes first. I am used to walking my dog in all weathers in Cumbria, so that just seems natural to me! I also love playing with her inside, training and playing hide and seek is a favourite;) All the workaways and most of the volunteering I have undertaken has involved animals (mainly dogs and horses) and it continues in that vein. I would love to run my own rescue one day or get involved in animal therapy. I hope that gives some indication of my priorites in life! I realise I am a newbee, as it were, on this site, but I strongly believe in giving people (and animals, obviously!) a chance. With this in mind, I am obviously happy to chat/meet up and provide direct contact details for further character references! I enclose here, just one testimonial from a long standing colleague, friend and collie owner!
Working as a teacher for many years, Nicola has proved herself to be flexible, kind and honest and thoughtful. I was a colleague of Nicola’s and have seen her high standards of organisation in the classroom and through her Airbnb connection. Traits that work very well for her in her new role. I have seen her kindness towards animals first hand and know how much love and effort has gone into her volunteering work with many different types of animals over the years.
Thankyou so much for taking the time to read this far!!

Last updated: 20 July 2023

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 30 December 2022
Until: 12 November 2024

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

Fabulous and Flexible

Nic made a great house sitter. She was available at quite short notice coped with our changing plans as we sorted out details until the day before we left. She turned up on time and kept us up to date with how each of the pets was doing. She exercised the dog regularly despite the torrential rain and even improvised an agility course for him in the garden. She gave the cats lots of fuss and attention which they do need. She even liaised with us when an old gate started to fall apart, to get it repaired as it couldn't be put off till we got back. Fabulous, would definitely be happy for her to house sit again ????

Peter, United Kingdom, 24 September, 2023

  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since September 2023