Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Responsible and Caring Academic Nomad Pet/House Sitter

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Tortoise/Turtle(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s) – Please feel free to ask me any questions. Thank you for looking into my profile.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 10 November 2022
Until: 16 March 2024

Occupation

Assistant Professor

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

I describe myself as a life-long learner. I am committed to supporting and learning with others by listening, reading, thinking, and writing. I am passionate about social justice efforts (like migration, health, and aging) and am a first-generation college graduate from a working-class background that has been fortunate to obtain a PhD and now working at a research intensive university in California. I am a proud daughter of Mexican migrants and was born and raised in Houston, Texas.

I enjoy traveling and I have recently embraced my academic nomadic identity. Ever since I had the opportunity to leave Texas (where I graduated with a PhD in Sociology), I have lived on the West, Midwest, and East Coast of the United States. Throughout my graduate training I was a house/pet sitter for multiple faculty members, including for my PhD mentor. As an Assistant Professor, I continue to seek opportunities to house/pet sit for colleagues and friends. I am extremely careful with people's homes. I have lived in fully furnished homes since I have traveled as a Postdoctoral Fellow until this day, therefore, I have ample experience with caring for others belongings. I am looking for house/pet sitting opportunities to travel while I am currently on sabbatical.

Why they want to house sit

I want to house sit because I am currently completing a book manuscript and I strongly feel that house and pet sitting will provide a perfect balance of intensive writing and relaxation by caring for pets, plants, and a home. Given my current nomadic lifestyle I am not able to have my own pets, therefore, house and pet sitting are perfect ways to obtain the benefits that pets bring to our lives, while also creating new memories in new places.

Their experience

Yes, I have over ten years of experience house/pet sitting. I began doing so, as a graduate student and continue to house/pet sit for my mentors, colleagues, and friends. The opportunities to house/pet sit have been mutually beneficial as others pets and homes have helped me progress in my research and writing while I also take great care of pets/homes.

What can they bring to the assignment

What I can bring to the assignment in house/pet sitting is genuine and authentic care for your pets and homes. My goal is to make your pet(s) as comfortable as possible so that they do not miss you as much. After meeting and learning from the home/pet owner(s) I tailor a care house/pet plan that aligns with your expectations, goals, and needs.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 10 November 2022
Until: 16 March 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 10 November 2022