Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced traveler & mom to pets of all kinds—cold-blooded, furry, & human

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Reptile(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 14 December 2022
Until: 31 December 2023
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired homeschooling mom

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

I am a mom to two adult humans, an elderly dog, two cats (at this time) and a 4 1/2 lb bunny who, next to me, is the alpha animal in the house. Seriously.

I grew up in Taiwan and have always loved different cultures. My husband is Korean, my goddaughter is Chinese American, and my son is American with a half Chinese, half Korean ancestry. In new social settings, I find I invariably gravitate toward people from other countries.

I have an MA in Chinese studies from Yale University, and have done graduate studies in socio-cultural anthropology and in religion. These interests guided my work in the Chinese community for many years - teaching ESL in Taiwan and in the US,, studying in China, & working in a Chinese church in the US. I also taught Mandarin Chinese to children and homeschooled my son.

I’m now retired, although I do part-time childcare to stay active. I love gardening and have a dozen organic fruit trees, two dozen roses bushes, and a large garden with many other plants and trees. I also love camping, fishing, birdwatching, reading, and travel.

The photos show our family pets, a Maltipoo I’ve taken care of in my home on several occasions, my husband and son, and two of my hobbies: gardening & fishing.

Finally, I have a clear FBI background check that was done in 2002. It is required of all adoptive parents in the US.

Why they want to house sit

I love animals. I’d have a whole lot more if I could. (Chickens! Nigerian Pygmy Goats! Chinese Golden Pheasants! Parrots! Tropical fish! Chameleons! Tree frogs! Many more cats, dogs and rabbits!) However, my husband has urged me that I already have my hands full with the pets we have and my big garden, so I’ve reluctantly had to grant that he has a point. Besides, he has to take care of everything & everyone when I’m gone, so there’s that, too. Lol.

I also love learning about other cultures and places. Consequently, I love to travel — especially overseas. When I travel, I try to live at the local level in order to get a better sense of how people there live. You can’t get that by staying in a tourist hotel and eating at touristy restaurants. So, the idea of staying in a home rather than a tourist hotel fits my goal of experiencing what it would be like to live in that area.

Their experience

I have a lot of experience with animals. I’ve done pet-sitting here in the US: dogs, cats, and a pet rat. That’s in addition to all of the pets I’ve had over the years: the many cats I’ve had since I was 6 years old, plus dogs, rabbits, Guinea pigs, a cockatiel, pet lizards, and dart frogs. I’ve rescued & successfully raised baby birds, fallen from their nest, and volunteered for a year at a native wildlife hospital (the oldest one in the US).

I also have a lot of experience with plants — both indoor and out — including advising other people with their plants and gardens.

I will be happy to provide pet-sitting and personal references upon request.

What can they bring to the assignment

First, I am responsible. If I make a commitment to be there and to care for your beloved pets and plants, you can count on me to do it and do it well.

Second, I’m very good with animals. I know how to interpret the way different animals’ communicate and always get along really well with other people’s pets. I also have a lot of experience caring for a wide range of animals, including elderly pets and pets on medications.

Third, I am extremely neat and clean. I always leave a place as clean, if not cleaner, than I found it.

Fourth, I know a lot about caring for a diverse variety of plants and how to ensure plants are healthy. (I.e., the number one reason people’s house plants die is because of overwatering.)

Finally, I adapt to new places very easily. I have lived in 3 countries and 8 different parts of the US.

Available to house sit

Africa, Belize, Burma, Cambodia, Caribbean, Central South America, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Ecuador, Fiji, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Middle East, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 14 December 2022
Until: 31 December 2023

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
20 April 2023 to 11 May 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 27 November 2022