Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired Army Officer and experienced house/pet sitter looking for further adventures.

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Pig(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 10 January 2023
Until: 31 December 2023

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Retired Army Officer and experienced house/pet sitter looking for further adventures.

Peter Hesketh (64).

Why they want to house sit

After a career as a Military Surveyor that’s taken me all over the world I love to travel and discover new places. I enjoy being around animals. House sitting affords the chance to do both on a limited budget. It’s all part of life’s big adventure and a chance to visit new places and make new friends. My wife Leah is continuing her career so will not be with me; but may join me for a short period if I am away for several months. Looking for short sits close to home (Europe) or a longer sit further afield (1 -3 months) Apr - Sep period.

Their experience

I have undertaken 3 pet/house sits in the past 1 recently in Chicago; but more recently have been concentrating on touring Europe in my motorhome. This year I am looking to leave the motorhome at home and venture further afield. I have life experience by the bucket load and provide a link to past house/pet siting references below.

What can they bring to the assignment

Personal values of honesty and integrity; allied with common sense, maturity and worst case scenario, the ability to think clearly and remain calm in a crisis.

An empathy with people who cherish their homes and pets and who have every right to be fussy about who they entrust their care to.

Flexibility. Whilst it’s always good to get dates in the diary early I’m not bound by any commitments and have the freedom to travel as I please. Can be available at short notice.

Lots of practical experience in DIY, painting and decorating and gardening. A ‘can do’ attitude and a good level of personal fitness.

Experience caring for, and a love of animals; we have cats and dogs of our own. I also have experience with pigs and chickens and I’m confident I’d be fine with horses, goats, et al as well.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 10 January 2023
Until: 31 December 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Thanksgiving Cat Care

Peter house sat for me over the Thanksgiving week of 2022, to feed and mind my cat, 2 hamsters, and water my plants. Peter was a lovely house guest, everything in the apartment was left just as it was, the pets and plants were all happy and healthy. Communicating with Peter was very easy and he arrived exactly when he said he would. The concierges at my building all said he was very friendly all week! He also took pictures of our cat for my daughter several days so that she would feel happy the cat was safe :). I would certainly be happy to have him in my home again!

Sarah, United States, 30 November, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 10 January 2023