Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Reliable, Experienced, Friendly

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 1 November 2022
Until: 14 January 2024

Occupation

Semi-retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I’m semi-retired with a flexible calendar, curiosity about the world, and a love of learning. I have skills in home maintenance, IT, animals, organization, and clear communication.

I’m Rod - born and raised in Hawaii, married for over 30 years, father of two adult children, long-time resident of the Seattle area, experienced world traveler, and former engineer and manager in medical devices, aerospace, and nonprofit media. I’m an empty nester whose wife still loves her job and wants to keep at it for a few more years, so with her blessing, I’m getting a head start on our retirement life of travel! My interests include travel, food, health, reading, film/TV, hiking, technology, sustainability, business, personal finance & investing, cars, and Formula 1 racing.

I’m looking for opportunities to experience the richness and variety of life in different settings around the world, and therefore have a preference for longer house sits. Other than that, I’m flexible as to country, setting, etc.

Why they want to house sit

Living in someone’s home is the most authentic way to experience places, cultures, and people. As a lifelong learner, I’m also fascinated by the differences, small and large, in how we all live - everything from food to transportation to home construction are all learning opportunities for me. Being responsible for the care of a home, pet(s), and/or grounds makes the experience even more immersive, creating a rhythm to each day that connects me to the place and the people who live there.

Their experience

I’ve owned and maintained my own home for over 30 years, and have been on the maintenance committee for our 30-home community for over 20 years. In my work, I’ve managed IT resources and networks for 25+ person organizations. As a homeowner, I continue to do a range of remodeling, landscaping, and gardening projects.

At different times in my life, I’ve had cats, rabbits, chickens, fish, a dog, and a tortoise, and I’ve also cared for friends’ cats and dogs when they traveled. Throughout my childhood, I spent time every summer on my grandparents’ dairy farm, so I have a fondness for the farming lifestyle.

I’m an experienced world traveler, having traveled in most of western Europe and North America, as well as Guatemala, Belize, China including Tibet, and Japan, including two months living in Tokyo. In 2016, I walked the 500-mile Camino de Santiago over 5 weeks, enjoying the hospitality of the Spanish and French people. While I don’t speak any languages fluently other than English, I enjoy learning as much of the language of the place I’m visiting as I can. I’ve stayed in many homes through Airbnb and VRBO, including some room rentals with the host present. If you have an Airbnb login, you can see my reviews here: https://www.airbnb.com/users/show/46882074

What can they bring to the assignment

First and foremost, I’m honest and conscientious - I won’t let you down. I’m a clear communicator and will respond to your requests or questions quickly. Rather than waiting for problems to emerge, I’m sensitive to possible issues, am a strong problem solver, and will be proactive to address any issues that arise. I believe respect, humility, and flexibility are valuable traits, especially when living in someone else’s home and culture. I’m sociable and enthusiastic with wide-ranging interests, but also like my quiet alone time. I’m in good physical health, willing to do demanding work, I don’t smoke, and I’m fully vaccinated and boosted.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 November 2022
Until: 14 January 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 18 October 2022