Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Professional, experienced, non-smoking, retired couple to care for your home and pets

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 7 May 2024
Until: 1 December 2025
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired University Professor/Physician Associate/RN/Nutritionist

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Kathy and Patrick are non-smoking, retired professional educators in health and wellness. We love to travel, meet new friends (human and animals) and experience life to the fullest. We are reliable, no drama and sensible. We communicate effectively and want to make sure that when you go away, you feel good knowing your pets and property is being cared for. We are looking for sits that are 2 weeks or longer so we can feel settled in and get to know the pets and community we are living in. We are currently living in Portugal (until the end of March) and have two houses its in the UK coming up.

Why they want to house sit

We are entering a new phase of exploration as we have reduced our careers in health and wellness education. We want to help others to explore what's important to them and give some relief of responsibilities for animals and property. At the same time, we would love to meet new people, see more of the world and experience other lifestyles and culture. We are not tied to our own property right now so this an opportunity to experience different communities while serving others.

Their experience

We have traveled to several countries and states including vacation rentals and house sitting. We have owned two homes and had several pets. We have a philosophy of "leave no trace unless it improves the situation". We are not afraid of doing some work as needed to help in ways that make sense.

We once had a sitting in Arizona caring for a beautiful home and two cats. One had a special diet and needed infusions every week or so at the vet. In 2021, we sat with two dogs and cared for a large house in the Santa Cruz area for 10 days and we became aware of house and pet sitting.

Since Patrick retired from the university in June 2023, we have been traveling the US and Europe. We have been pet and house sitters in Bellingham (WA), Portland (OR), Mesa (AZ – on and off for 12 years), and Steamboat Springs (CO). we have cared for animals that needed extra health procedures or care so our background in healthcare has been helpful.

What can they bring to the assignment

Reliable, non-smokers, experience in traveling, taking care of properties, and loving kindness for other beings. We are open-minded and can meet many challenges head-on. Patrick is a veteran and from a military family. He and his family raised dogs when he was growing up so he's dealt with many issues that way. The two of us can adapt to most situations. We have maintained pools, taken out trash weekly, mowed lawns, trimmed, raked, and shoveled snow our whole lives. We keep a place clean. We are mindful of our pet's needs and comfort. We are level-headed good communicators and problem-solvers.

We have a 5 star rating with over 50 stays at Airbnbs over 12 years.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 7 May 2024
Until: 1 December 2025

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
2 April 2024 to 24 May 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2022

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

Best Home Sitters EVER

The Enkings stayed at our home for 24 days - they left it cleaner and more organized than it was when they arrived! They took our doggy Gibson on so many adventures, he cried when they left. We can’t recommend them more highly.

Mary Kay, United States, 27 October, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 28 February 2024