Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired librarian raised on a farm loves pets and travel

United States


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s) – I grew up on a farm and took care of cattle, chickens, and pigs. 20 years ago, I looked after goats and a horse. Recently I cared for neighbors' dogs, chickens, and cats.

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 1 March 2023
Until: 31 December 2024
(see their busy times below)


Retired librarian


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a recently retired librarian who is very active and loves pets. Raised on a family farm, I have been caring for dogs, cats, cows, chickens, goats, and a horse at various times throughout my life Currently a partner and I live in a neighborhood where several of the dogs have regular playdates in my yard with my dog. I help my neighbor by caring for her dog during the day when she is at work. When she is on vacation, I care for her chickens. I hike with my dog every day and take her to the local dog park several times a week.
I am looking to stay in a home (house or apartment) and treat the pets as I treat my own, while it offers me a chance to learn the local area and to travel more before and after the house sit. When I travel I also prefer to cook for myself and to have a quiet place to stay (rather than a hotel).

Why they want to house sit

This offers me a chance to travel with or without my partner (who is still working full-time) in a very affordable way and have a place to stay that will allow me/us to cook for myself, explore the local area during the day, and then return to what I so value about my life and home - the warmth and love of pets.

Their experience

Yes. For several years my partner and I cared for friends' cats (2) in New York City when they traveled. Now I care for my neighbor's chickens, dog, and cat when she travels. I care for her dog daily while she is at work. I also let another neighbor's 6-month-old puppy out during the day when she is working.

What can they bring to the assignment

I bring a love of pets and a commitment to giving them the level of care and love I give my own pet currently and have given pets over my lifetime. I also bring a lifetime of being around animals and pets, from my childhood on our family farm, and an understanding of keeping animals and property safe (from fire hazards, keeping doors/gates locked and secure, etc. I have also recently gained US citizenship and am a dual citizen of Canada-US. I mention this to verify my background in lieu of a police check.

Available to house sit

Australia, Bangladesh, Belize, Bolivia, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 1 March 2023
Until: 31 December 2024

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
11 June 2023 to 8 July 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 25 January 2023