Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

World travellers looking for adventure

Australia

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s) – My husband used to foster dogs. We probably love animals more than people sometimes! I've also had ducks, rats, a tortoise and guinea pigs... I can manage most things.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 15 February 2025
Until: 30 June 2026
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Former town planner and custodial officer

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

My husband and I have worked hard and are travelling together indefinitely. We love animals and enjoy being a part of a local community. We're organised, friendly, respectful and able to adapt to any situation. Our background is emergency services, but I was also a town planner before then! We have collectively had dogs, cats, guinea pigs, rats, ducks, chickens, a turtle and children - so we can deal with most things.
Not looking for anything in particular, just want to see where this will take us.
We've lived in various countries during our lives and wish to experience whatever else the world has to offer during our early retirement!

Why they want to house sit

We'd like to house sit to broaden horizons, experience new culture, new communities and food! We figured that we could help people get away for a break and, being ex animal owners, we know that's important, but so is the welfare of your animals and plants and security of your home. It also allows us the opportunity to see whether your area is a nice place to settle in once we have finished travelling.

Their experience

I have house sat a farm in Chittering, Western Australia on a couple of occasions. There were orchards, a pool, chickens, cats and dogs to care for, plus a substantial house.
We house sat in Vanuatu, and went through two cyclones. I'm now handy with a machete! We cared for a puppy, cats and chickens. There was also a pool, staff and a complicated solar array! The cyclones were quite the experience, as was the clean up after, but during that time we had fabulous neighbours and it was (in the end) quite a fun experience, even if it was Exhausting! We have house sat for other people, mainly dogs and cats which was so much easier as there were no natural disasters to deal with!

What can they bring to the assignment

Level headed and a common sense attitude. We'd treat your animals, plants with the care I'd give my own place.
If anything needs minor repairs then generally we can deal with that - having renovated two entire homes has taught us some decent skills!
My husband and I are organised, friendly, warm and caring. We tend to help others before we help ourselves.We're still active as we're only in our 50's. We can stay for short or long stays depending on other commitments! We do prefer a minimum of one month and to be close to transport. We drive, but prefer not to rent cars, especially if we need to take large animals to the vet...car hire places can be picky if something is damaged!

Last updated: 11 February 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Fiji, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, South East Asia, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 15 February 2025
Until: 30 June 2026

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
1 May 2024 to 31 May 2024

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since January 2023