Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Ageless 70s year old couple available for Spring, Fall or Winter assignments

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Goat(s) – We have never been without a dog in the family. Our children also have dogs and cats. Our current dog will be staying with one of the children if we head out.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 6 March 2023
Until: 5 May 2024
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired owner of environmental construction company, retired social services manager

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are a ten year on retired couple, married for 42 years, two children, five grandchildren who are looking to widen our horizons a bit. We rotate between our three homes in the western US throughout the seasons and are looking to travel outside the country more. We are familiar with most of Southern Europe and a good part of Central and South America. We formally owned a bungalow in Costa Rica for 20 years so we are familiar with long stays overseas. Pat is a retired environmental-construction company owner and is familiar with most home repairs after keeping up three homes in a wide variety of climates. Kandi is a retired social services manager who studied in Italy for a year in college. We both speak very broken romance languages as well as fractured English! Spanish being our least broken romance language. Both of us are active hikers, bikers, golfers and dog walkers. We have always had dogs, mostly rescued lab mixes and currently share our homes with a terrier- poodle mixed rescue. We are somewhat on a search for a European house to purchase and have spent the last couple of vacations in France, Croatia, and Italy while dodging Covid.

We are looking for a house sit situation that would afford us the opportunity to get a real feel for the area and how we would appreciate living in that area for longer periods if we were to buy a home there.

We love animals but Pat is unfortunately allergic to some cats so indoor cats may be a problem. Pat did grow up on a gentleman's farm and so has familiarity with horses and goats but that knowledge is 50 years OLD!
Kandi is a marvelous gardener in zones from the high temperate to the California desert.

Why they want to house sit

As we said above, we are somewhat looking for another home to purchase. That being said, life is full for us now. Rather than run off and buy another home, {it would require selling one or more of the three we have}, we thought it would be better to go on a sabbatical for a period and house sit. This would test us on whether or not our desires outstrip our comfort level at this stage in our lives.

Their experience

On this platform we offer no prior house sittings. We are only just joining the group. But we have been multiple-home owners for years and have owned homes in all climate zones from alpine to jungles and deserts. We do most of our own repairs and have built and remodeled numerous homes in the past. We have both lived overseas for extended periods of time under various conditions. Kandi studied in Italy for a year, we have traveled for up to three months at a time. Pat has sailed across the Pacific for 6 months. Homesickness is not an issue with us.
All of our houses are rented out when we are not in residence. We are experienced in having others in our home and are knowledgeable of the situations that can arise. We have run a successful Airbnb for 5 years and are Super Hosts and Premier Hosts on VRBO.

What can they bring to the assignment

A good fix it man, a good gardener, a couple that loves dogs.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Availability dates

From: 6 March 2023
Until: 5 May 2024

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
14 May 2023 to 10 September 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 6 March 2023