Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Fully housetrained mature Scottish artist/designer based in France



They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s)

Police check

They have a police check


From: 10 September 2023
Until: 22 August 2025




They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a self-employed artist/designer based in France since 2018. I separated from my partner of 30 years last year (still good friends) and am now taking time out and looking for the ideal property for myself after selling our last renovation project in the Dordogne. Im more interested in longer term house sits, preferably at least a month and with a garden/potager as I love flowers, herbs and edible gardening as well as foraging.

Why they want to house sit

My reason for house sitting is primarily to save money on renting as my budget for buying a property is quite small and income sporadic and unreliable at the moment.
I also really love having a beautiful home and garden to care for so long term sits with a garden (and preferably space I can use as an artist’s studio) are ideal for me. Good wifi is essential.

Their experience

Yes, I have looked after friends and families homes and pets in Scotland and have 3 successful housesits with pets and gardens so far in France.
I was formerly a director of my partner’s Landscape gardening company employing 20 people seasonally where I was responsible for all aspects of design, including work schedules.
I have lived with cats and dogs all my life although I am allergic to dogs (but they love me!) so prefer to petsit only for cats. I have one young rescue cat of my own who ideally would come with me, but when not possible she stays with my ex-partner.

What can they bring to the assignment

I grew up in hotels (my parent's) so I understand how to clean, present and maintain a good standard.
I have renovated and sold (for above market value) 3 homes of my own and professionally successfully redesigned a guest house for sale. I am compétent in many aspects of diy, especially painting and decorating.
Gardening is a growing passion, having first designed gardens for others, then grown all my own fruit, veg, herbs and flowers (bio) from seed, as well as foraging, cooking and preserving produce.
Animals love me (and it’s mutua)l but I am unfortunately allergic to dogs.
I am mature, easy going and very capable, so your home, garden and pets will be in safe hands, and as long as I have some time (and preferably a space) to work I'll be happy.
I am easy going and positive, with a very good sense of humour and more than capable in many areas.

Last updated: 6 March 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 10 September 2023
Until: 22 August 2025

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2


Mrs Cara Catchpole

Judith is a friendly and kind lady and we are so glad that we entrusted her to look after our home through the winter months. Judith communicated with me well throughout her stay in our home in France, which was approximately for 4 months in total. She would message me regularly to let me know any updates, if work was being carried out when it should be, and even when she wanted to let me know if she felt something wasn't quite right. Judith is helpful and full of common sense! She arranged wood for the log burner to be delivered and stacked it herself, along with other day to day jobs that needed attending to. We would trust our home with Judith any time.

Cara, France, 21 May, 2024

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

Dordogne Housesit

Judith proved an excellent choice for my housesit commencing in May through to August this year. The house is large and has a pool and garden so I wanted someone who would be comfortable taking care of everything in my absence. As the house is also on the market, I needed someone who would be prepared to accept viewings via the agents and this Judith was comfortable to do. Judith kept in regular contact and alerted me to any problems. The garden and pool were well maintained and the house was neat and tidy on our return this week. I would be happy to recommend Judith for future housesits.

Frances, United Kingdom, 20 August, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since March 2023