Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Older & Wiser

Australia

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 30 September 2023
Until: 30 September 2025

Occupation

Retired flight attendant/cafe owner

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Hello, my name is Karen,
I have recently retired from a career in hospitality. I started as a hotel receptionist, followed by 23 years as an international flight attendant and spent the last 10 years starting & running my own cafe and wholefoods business which I recently sold. Raised in the UK I emigrated to Australia 40 years ago. I have been deeply involved with my local community for the past couple of decades, organising fundraising events and social gatherings as my "why" is to create spaces & occasions to bring people together. Travelling, meeting new people and experiencing other cultures is my other passion although I also very much enjoy quiet time alone, especially if there is a sweet animal to cuddle up with!

Why they want to house sit

No longer having any work commitments, I am enjoying a slower pace of life & have returned to the wonderful, mutually beneficial world of house and pet sitting. I look forward to making new & lovely connections with house owners and their animals.

Their experience

I have 3 official references from other housesitting sites (pasted below) and have had my own holiday rental on airbnb with many great references.
REF: Anna (kittens Betty & Gloria) - Normador September 2018
Karen was an absolutely fantastic house sitter. She kept my house and garden immaculate while we were away - it was even more tidy when we returned than when we left! She took great care of our cats too and spent lots of time with them and sent us regular updates. . Karen is an honest, kind and friendly person who is very easy to communicate with and I would recommend her to anyone. Thank you Karen we loved having you to stay !

Peta - Winslow England
SIT DATE: Jul 2018 - 2 weeks 1 day
Karen was absolutely fabulous. Floss and I were able to meet her before I went away, which really helped. She took really good care of both Floss and my house and sent me really detailed helpful feedback at the end. She also cleaned my house and left me a bunch of flowers! A lovely lady - I can highly recommend her.

Stefanie - London England
SIT DATE: Aug 2017 - 1 week 4 days
We were very lucky to find Karen. She was very communicative when we were arranging the house sit and flexible to fit around our holiday dates. She's very friendly and trustworthy and we felt our house & cat Balthazar was in very good hands with her. When we got back, Balthazar looked very content, and the house was spotless. She'd even left a card & orchid. Highly recommend.

What can they bring to the assignment

Maturity and experience. I have been a home owner and holiday rental owner and have high levels of cleanliness. Having had many of my own pets over the years I am very familiar with taking care of their needs.

Last updated: 3 March 2024

Available to house sit

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Caribbean, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 30 September 2023
Until: 30 September 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Amazing sitter

I can’t recommend Karen enough, she was both a lovely person and a great cat sitter. She really went the extra mile and put on clean sheets on the bed for my late arrival home and left flowers. The cats were relaxed and well looked after and the apartment spotless

Rowan, Sweden, 29 July, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since May 2024