Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Freelance Journalist / Landlord Who Will Treat Your Home, Pets, and Plants Like My Own

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 24 September 2024
Until: 30 June 2025
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Freelance Journalist / Audio Producer / Landlord

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

“Scott was a total dream to work with!” wrote one homeowner who I house sat for recently.

“We would recommend him without a moment’s hesitation,” wrote another.

Your home, pets, and plants will be in good hands when I’m looking after them, cause house sitting is something I absolutely love doing!

Here’s a little about my background: I’m a freelance journalist and audio producer in my mid-40s who’s passionate about traveling and exploring different cultures. I worked in public radio for many years, and I produce an award-winning documentary podcast where I report interesting stories from around the world.

When I’m not house sitting or traveling, I live in northern New Jersey in a suburb of New York City. I’m a homeowner myself, and I’m also a landlord, so I know what it’s like to welcome renters into my space. I always look for people who will take pride in their living environment, keep it clean, and take good care of it when I’m away. And that’s the same way I will treat your house when I stay in it.

Why they want to house sit

Although I’m enriched by visiting new places and having new experiences, I also enjoy settling down somewhere for a while instead of constantly being on the move. I like the comfort and privacy, and I also like taking care of someone else’s home and treating it as if it were my own. Having access to a kitchen where I can cook my own meals also helps me feel more grounded. And by staying longer than I would on a typical vacation, I get to really experience the place and the culture as if I were a local.

I’ve been around animals for most of my life. I love dogs, and cats amuse me. We generally make great friends. My travel lifestyle right now unfortunately makes it difficult to have another pet of my own, so house sitting is a good opportunity to be a pet owner without having to make a long-term commitment.

Their experience

In past houses I’ve looked after, I’ve cared for both cats and dogs, watered plants, cleared snow, composted, done some house cleaning, and performed a variety of other tasks. I'm also certified in pet first aid and CPR. My experiences have all been extremely positive, and the homeowners I helped were thrilled with the services I provided (I’d be glad to put you in touch with them if you’d like). In addition, I’m also an experienced gardener and am able to handle most basic issues that might arise in terms of home repairs.

What can they bring to the assignment

I’d describe myself as a fairly quiet, mature, dependable, and responsible individual who tends to be very neat and organized. I’m a non-smoker, a light drinker, and a pescetarian, though I could easily be vegetarian or vegan for the length of my stay. I’m also well-traveled, good at adapting to things that are unfamiliar to me, and comfortable in foreign cultures and environments. I can speak basic Spanish.

One trait I have that I think helps me is that I tend to stay calm when unexpected situations arise. I’m a pretty logical person, so I’m good at thinking things through, exploring my options and figuring out solutions. At the same time, I’d be sure to communicate with you thoroughly if anything came up, to avoid any surprises upon your return. I always strive to leave every place I stay in as good – if not better – shape than how I found it!

If you have any questions, or need further references, I’m happy to forward them. I look forward to chatting with you.

Last updated: 5 May 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 24 September 2024
Until: 30 June 2025

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
24 November 2024 to 30 November 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

Hiuse sitter from July to Sept 2023

I am happy to give Scott an excellent reference as he was efficient, organised and very helpful with odd jobs around the house. He stepped in to manage the house sit even though we were not able to meet in person. He is an easy communicator and understands what needs to be done before it is all spelt out I much appreciated his help throughout his stay

Michele, Denmark, 28 September, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since May 2024