Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Mature Woman with 3 Decades Professional Pet Care of Dogs, Cats & Exotics

United States


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – I have studied big game in Africa, top predators and lived on a large cattle ranch.

Police check

They have a police check


From: 17 May 2023
Until: 30 September 2025


Professional Pet Care Provider, Writer


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am focused on dovetailing a lifetime of experience caring for animals with international travel. As such, I a mature American woman who spent more than three decades working professionally with animals, mainly dogs but also cats, horses and some exotics. Along the way I have done many housesitting jobs and can send you hundreds of references. I do behavioral therapies with canines in group settings and am passionate about animal rescue. I donate regularly to charities that benefit the environment and animal rescue.
A little about me? I am a well-educated empty nester. Beyond that I am an untrained poet, published writer, entrepreneur, chef, gardener, foodie and I am calm in emergencies! I grow things including peaches, raspberries, vegetables and many flowers, most from seed.
I've lived and studied abroad having visited 83 countries when I recently returned from Ireland and England. I've lived in Norway, Japan & Kenya. I am eager to return to Europe but will also provide services in Asia, Costa Rica, parts of South American and the Middle East. I do require Wifi, local emergency contacts and some mode of transportation if markets are not handily available.
Additionally I grow things including amaryllis, peaches, raspberries, vegetables and many flowers, most from seed. I am an above-average gardener and can do some yard work but nothing too arduous. Currently there are over 300 tulips about to bloom in my yard! If you have a flower garden and animals, we are a match made in heaven! My partner may or may not join me.

Why they want to house sit

My children are raised and I am very comfortable managing a home with multiple animals as I do so every day here in Washington State where I live. My five-bedroom home is large and I share my home with more animals than I care to admit! LOL
But what you should know is that I am experienced, trustworthy & have that rare commodity called "common sense"! There is no substitute for these three commodities in life especially when you are leaving your home and beloved ones in the charge of someone else!
My two passions in life are writing and healing canines through group dynamics. I am a published writer and have quite a loyal following of people who bring their animals to me for care, therapy and just plain love! So housesitting with a bent towards pet care is where I shine with my talent and good intentions! Years ago I knew I would never be rich working with animals but I figure that karmically I am wealthy since I have rescued, rehabilitated and rehomed many cats, dogs and even a horse. I am intuitive and empathetic and the animals sense these qualities. I summered in Colorado on my grandparents' ranch and am comfortable with farm animals. In the world of canines, I specialize in working breeds and socializing canines of all manner.
Believe it or not, I once worked in Kenya in the care of a young elephant and those experiences teach you things you cannot learn out of a book or university!
Professionally I am heading into retirement so I will have more time to travel, housesit, write and help animals navigate this life!

Their experience

As far as creatures, I am patient, loving & intuitive with animals. My clients call me a "dog whisperer" but I have done good things with felines as well. The importance of the relationship between your animal and me as their caregiver cannot be overstated so I will spend a lot of time bonding with and observing your beloved fur baby. I have long wondered why animals, even wild ones, trust me and I've decided it's because they feel safe in my presence.
As far as home care, literally I have housesat for more than three decades and can provide you with countless references. In fact, here's a testimonial written by Michelle H. on October 3, 2022 (which is online for your preview):
"Shell was great with our anxious older dogs who love to bark at
strangers. She was very thorough in our meet and greet and I knew the dogs (and house) would be well taken care of in our absence. She communicated well throughout her house-sitting stay and we came home to a clean house, happy dogs, and even several lovely flower bouquets! I would absolutely recommend Shell to our friends."

Need more testimonials? I have over 600, most of them online for your reading enjoyment!!!

I am also trained in CPR and very basic emergency medical care for canines. I know some about cat emergency CPR but need to brush up on that as it's a dynamically ever-changing field. When necessary, I can give medications intravenously to cats and dogs if prescribed by a vet. I can assist in live births and have never lost a newborn baby in the multiple and often complicated canine and feline deliveries I have overseen.

What can they bring to the assignment

Interesting question! I think what sets me apart is years of experience and the ability to handle emergencies with aplomb! Beyond that I have cared for the homes and pets of certain individuals who required a certain discretion and circumspection. I pride myself on communication and transparency so you will never be wondering how your animals and home are faring. You will always be kept abreast of your home and hearth!
Please keep in mind that I am always an advocate for animals so if I believe they need something or would benefit from a certain therapy, diet, approach or experience I will convey that to you in a most respectful way. Your animal's welfare is my utmost priority and I do not compromise in their care and well being.
In the final analysis, people often view housesitting as a way to see the world. I've already seen much of this spinning planet so now my primary aim is to bring my particular set of talents and passion into your home for the benefit and peace of mind to all! As I mature I embrace that we all crave meaningful relationships, which nourish our souls in this chaotic world we live in! Thanks for reading!

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 17 May 2023
Until: 30 September 2025

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 20 April 2023