Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Dependable, non-smoker, and lover of animals

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have 3 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 14 May 2024
Until: 19 July 2025

Occupation

Retired

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Hello, thank you for your interest in my profile. I have done six sittings, but the system only shows five.

I live in a rural location; before this, I lived in cities. I have also travelled widely, and these experiences have helped me develop an adaptable mindset. I'm also very flexible, as I no longer have family commitments.

The security of your home and the safety of your pets are crucial, so I am responsible and accountable by being mindful of what I am doing and aware of the context in which I am doing it.

I value natural and human ecology, so I will not waste your resources, and I am mindful that I am a guest in the homes and communities I visit.

Throughout my two careers, I underwent government security vetting and stringent police checks, which were necessary due to my positions of trust and responsibility.

I would like to suggest the following:

1. Set up a video meeting to get to know one another, understand and manage each other's expectations, and decide if we can work together. I will then...

2. ...... email copies of my passport, driving licence, and utility bills. This will verify my identity with my home address and telephone number. When you are happy with my identity - and once you have confirmed that you would like me to undertake the house-sitting, I will then.....

3. .....immediately book travel and hotel. I aim to get to the sitting one or two days before to absorb any travel delays, visit you before you leave to familiarise myself with your home, understand what I need to do, and meet your pet. This means that you can take comfort in knowing that all is taken care of and I am not in your way while you are busy doing final preparations before you leave. Once I have made these arrangements, I will email proof of bookings and expenditures to indicate my commitment to the sitting (at this point, you can delist your advert).

Thank you for visiting my profile. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you require further information.

Why they want to house sit

> I live in a comfortable home in a beautiful part of the countryside, but sometimes, I feel too settled and too comfortable. Therefore, I look for opportunities to take me out of my comfort zone, immerse me in different places/cultures, and develop insights into them that provide me with new perspectives.
> An opportunity to be close to sentient beings as I no longer have pets.
> I retired very early, so house-sitting is a way to stretch my money further.

Their experience

I don't have pets now, but previously, I have had pets (cats, dogs, fish, birds, hamsters, and rabbits). I have looked after neighbours' pets when the owners were away (sometimes for weeks). I have a respectful attitude to people, their pets, their homes, and the communities in which those homes sit.

What can they bring to the assignment

> Physical fitness to get where I need to be and complete what is expected of me.
> Mental robustness to see things through to the end and an open and flexible attitude to see growth opportunities in any situation.
>I am adaptable and willing to consult with the homeowner when the unexpected occurs. I stick to an agreed-upon plan but am open to adjustments, always considering the homeowner's best interests, pets, and property.
> I will not waste resources (electricity/gas/water).
> Very security-minded and vigilant.
> It is a privilege and honour to be invited into someone's home, so I will respect it accordingly.
> I am a non-smoker, and as I rarely drink alcohol (or party or play loud music), I don't need to be out at night.
> Sensibilities of, and respect for, those around me.
>I communicate quickly, directly, and transparently so that you can make informed decisions quickly and reduce uncertainty. However, I am aware and respectful of your pace and will align with it.
>I build substantial time into the journey to absorb any delays and ensure I get to you at the agreed time.
>I take my commitments seriously.
>I take a measured approach to connecting with pets to minimise the already heightened anxiety of the owner's departure. I am neither Over the Top nor distant, so I let them get used to my presence, and when they do, I am affectionate towards them. However, if your pet suffers from extreme anxiety separation, I may not be the ideal person. Although I respect all sentient beings, I prefer that pets do not sleep on my bed.

Last updated: 14 May 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 14 May 2024
Until: 19 July 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 5

Testimonials

Warm and reliable person

Communication with Micheel is reliable, proactive and simple. We had a video call before his trip and I'm very glad that I had the opportunity to meet Michael live, when he was in Berlin. We could have talked for a long time. Michael left the flat tidy and clean and the cats looked happy. He left them all sorts of treats and also thought of them in the pre-call communication. On top of that, the gratitude of Michael's stay was palpable. Thank you!

Nova, Germany, 15 April, 2024

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

Excellent, Respectful sitter

Michael sat our house in Germany for several weeks. His communication was excellent. He helped keep the garden maintained, everything was left clean, he even forwarded mail through email and kept in touch with us at every turn. Very conscientious, security conscious and acts with integrity. Michael also had high praise from neighbours. We would recommend Michael unreservedly.

Timothy, Germany, 24 July, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden

Lovely person,

Michael spent 10 days in our apartment with our cat Loui while we were on vacation. We met him via zoom, which was uncomplicated and easy. We directly felt a good connection and comfortable with and around him. Michael is a very friendly and mindful person. He thought about things like an emergency phonenumber for the vet and stuff like that, which made us feel very confident and trustful in his ability and character to take care of our home and the cat very well. And he really did. He was very good reachable, whenever we texted him and offered to help us out in every possible occuring circumstance. He was very respectful towards our stuff and left the apartment very clean and tidied. We are very happy to have found him as a sitter and couldn't have thought of anyone better for the time period. We had a very nice holiday, knowing our home and our little furry friend were in absolutely good hands. Michael gave us peace in our minds, some real funny and lovely conversations and we are happy to have met him that way.

Philine, Germany, 29 May, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since May 2024