Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Looking for a lovely countryside or mountain property and animals to sit long term, France, Italy, Sweden maybe?: almost anywhere really.

United Kingdom


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – We are very flexible when it comes to pets, but do not wish to look after larger farm animals (horses, cows, etc.) or large herds ( a few sheep or goats maybe). Please just ask if you are not sure, I am happy to answer any questions via email, or chat on

Police check

They have a police check


From: 31 January 2024
Until: 30 April 2026


Ex-Electronics Engineer


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a retired Electronics Engineer and live in the south of England. My daughter is 29 and lives with me. I speak a little French and German and am trying to learn Italian. My daughter speaks fluent Italian, having learnt it at college and university and while living and working in Naples, Turin, and Florence. She also speaks very good French.
Our first big house and cat-sit was near Verona, Italy (6 weeks, Jul/Aug. 2023), and it went very well. I have travelled extensively in Europe and in the Alps by car and campervan, my last big trip (before our house-sit) being to Naples/Napoli and back by campervan in 2016. For our current trip, we drove to Turin, then Verona by car from the UK and have been travelling all over the local area and came back via the St. Bernard pass, Switzerland, Germany, Belium & France.
We're interested in house-sits early/summer 2024, long-term (one year+ would be ideal), with or without animals. We are both non-smokers.

Why they want to house sit

We would like to base ourselves in a nice countryside or mountainside property, or small town/village, maybe with some lovely small-ish pets or other animals, so that we can enjoy feeling 'at home' while exploring and getting to know the local area like locals. We look forward to making some new friends - human and furry alike! We would likely travel out by car, or happy to use or buy one locally, so will definitely have our own transport. Although English, we both have Irish citizenship and Irish/EU passports, so travelling and staying in the EU long-term is not a problem.

Their experience

I have also house and pet-sat for friends in the UK, we have both stayed with families in Italy (and had their children stay with us in the UK) and we are both very experienced with pets. I have lived in many houses and flats, both my own and rented, always looking after and maintaining them myself and keeping them clean and tidy and well maintained and have always received the best references. I am an ex-Electronics Engineer and am very practical with all things electrical, electronic and mechanical: I can fix most things, from mobile phones and laptops, to cars and home general DIY.
I was brought up in the countryside and regularly helped out on relatives' small farms when I was young. I love the countryside. I have done a lot of skiing and snowboarding and love the mountains: I spent six months on my own in Europe (winter to summer) in a campervan many years ago. I have also over-wintered in Canada.
My daughter has volunteered at dog kennels in Italy and a wildlife rescue centre in France and worked in education and au-paired in Italy. Until very recently, we had two small dogs and a cat, but just have the one (younger) dog now (both others were very old) and have in the past also had rabbits, rats and gerbils. On a long sit, we would need to bring our dog, Angel, with us. She is small-mid size (see photo).

What can they bring to the assignment

Total care of your property and pets as you would, especially with my long home ownership and self maintenance experience and my daughter's experience (especially) with various pets and animals and knowledge of French and Italian languages. Also looking forward to trying and getting to know other countries and languages! No preferred locations, anything considered - long-term only at the moment, but that might change.

Available to house sit

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland

Availability dates

From: 31 January 2024
Until: 30 April 2026

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 7 December 2023