Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Long-term house-sitter with forty years of Greek cultural experience

France

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 12 October 2023
Until: 11 January 2025

Occupation

Retired professor

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

I am a retired American academic living in France since 2010, first in Paris, and now caring for a house in a medieval village near Montpellier for the past six in a semi-permanent arrangement with the owner who resides in the States. I am reliable, easygoing but responsable, Greek-speaking after living in Greece for research during the 1980s, these days with frequent trips back and forth from France. I am well-traveled, certainly in Europe and Greece, with a range of interests and able to relate to a variety of people. I am also available to care for pets as needed. I have a ten-year French residence visa and an International Driver's Licence with years of experience driving in Greece, including mountain roads. I am a so-called senior and in certified good health. I am an amateur photographer. I have exhibited my photos around the Montpellier area in several cafés and restaurants (Bonobo, La Gazette, Coldrip, Isabella's Greek Restaurant) and area shows (La Rentrée d'Artistes d'Aniane for 5 consecutive years).

Why they want to house sit

The owner returns every year for a couple of months and his stays are written into our contract as a chance and necessity for me to travel, often to Greece. This year I am scheduled to do a podcast interview in Athens at some point during the first few weeks of September, followed by a short stay on Kythera and then will be free to go elsewhere if need be. I return to France on the 11 October.

Their experience

Yes, I am currently caretaking this large 3-story house plus walled garden since 2017. I have also done a fair amount of pet sitting, the latest fairly regularly for a friend, neighbor, and owner of 4 cats when she needs to be away on business for weeks at a time, up to a month.

What can they bring to the assignment

Experience, fluency, willingness to learn, curiosity, the desire to meet new people and discover new situations, and a calm spirit that comes from regular yoga practice.

Available to house sit

Greece

Availability dates

From: 12 October 2023
Until: 11 January 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 11 October 2023