Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

NEWLY RETIRED WORLD TRAVELER!

United States

Testimonials

They have 3 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 6 June 2024
Until: 15 September 2024

Occupation

Retired from court reporting and being a Landman

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

JOANN MILTNER
15970 Oak Ridge Court, LeRoy, Michigan 49655, United States

PROFILE
Meeting people and socializing are my favorite things to do. I am a self-motivator who is honest, reliable and trustworthy. I love my family and helping others. Any adventure is most enjoyable.
USA phone: 1-231-768-5239 (United States)
European (Ireland) phone: +353 (89) 976-4159
EMAIL: JoMiltner@gmail.com
HOBBIES: Whitewater Rafting/Kayaking, Traveling, AudioBooks, Fishing,Camping,Walking/Hiking, Motorcycle Riding, Museums/Parks

WORK AND HISTORY
2019 is my first year of retirement after 26 years as a self-employed court reporter, 15 years as a landman in oil and gas, and 3 years as a tutor with ESL, English As A Second Language. It is now time for me to continue being a nomad, as I have been all my life while working, only this time to places of my choosing. My retirement dream is to travel to foreign countries and spend time in different locations, immersing myself in the local culture and learning about the people and history. I am presently in Europe.
I can’t think of anything better to do along my journey than to meet four-legged friends (or two-legged) (or no-legged) on the way ?. My transient lifestyle doesn’t lend itself to having my own fulltime pet, so caring for others’ pets is perfect. For 20 years, I bred and raised Maltese dogs, have had cats (three were Siamese), and I frequently babysit my grandchildren; Luna, a beautiful black cat, and Guinness, a beautiful Spinone Italiano dog.

HOUSE-SITTING HISTORY
My house-sitting experience has been intermittent for friends and family in the United States. Since I have been tied to fulltime careers, I haven’t yet had the flexibility to seriously travel and house-sit. Being newly retired, I am anxious to begin my house-sitting jobs abroad as my third career.

SERVICES AVAILABLE WHILE YOU ARE GONE
• Daily walking of pets, playing with them, feeding them and giving treats; dogs, cats, turtles, birds, horses, fish, hens, rabbits, etc.
• Grooming daily (if required)
• Giving medicine (if required)
• Keeping your home clean so you return from your travels only having to unpack and relax
• Watering plants and lawns, gardening, weeding
• Take out trash/recycling
• Can send you pictures of your pets while you are away (if requested)
• Retrieving your mail and sending a picture (if requested)
• I am open to any suggestions or requirements you may have

REFERENCES
Tahoe Whitewater Tours, Owner/Brother Mike Miltner, (775) 741-4145
Sticker Pack, Son Clayton Coates, (231) 388-4553
Oil and Gas, Team Leader David Gould, (585) 245-1212
Oil and Gas, Coworker – Heather Wittstock, (727) 534-5227
Oil and Gas, Coworker – Sandra Marvin, (231) 768-5096

Why they want to house sit

House-sitting provides a place for me to stay while I vacation, as well as security for an absentee homeowner. Win win!

Their experience

Yes. I've stayed at friends/family homes over the years while they are vacationing, as well as watched their pets. I wouldn't call it a job; it's a pleasure.

What can they bring to the assignment

Lots of love and attention if there are animals. If no animals, then keeping a clean house is a priority, as well as maintaining anything needing attention; i.e., watering plants, picking up trash, retrieving the mail, anything a homeowner would like me to do, etc.

Last updated: 6 June 2024

Available to house sit

Italy

Availability dates

From: 6 June 2024
Until: 15 September 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

She is great!

JoAnn staid at my house in Mallorca taking care of my two cats for roughly a month between december 2023 and january 2024 and she was just the best. My house is not easy, I just moved to the countryside and the house is a bit rough, still has a few things to improve, but Joann dealt with it so well! The cats loved her and on my arrival back home I found them happy and well fed. The little one especially will miss her a lot! On top of this, she is just a lovely person to have around. We shared tyhe house for a few days before I left and after I returned and her company was very enjoyable, such a lovely and interesting person to chat with and have around. I wish there will be other occasions to have JoAnn back at my house and I reccommend her to anyone.

michela, Spain, 22 January, 2024

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

Ideal Dog and House Sitter

We were so pleased that we choose JoAnn to look after our dog, Devyn, and also care for our house in difficult weather. She was instantly best friends with Devyn and it’s clear that was maintained through the whole period. Devyn can not be left home alone and despite not having her own transport JoAnn was able to take him everywhere with her - to cafes etc but also for bus trips and even the hairdressers! There were a few small weather related issues around the house, that JoAnn, in liaison with us, was able to solve calmly. We recommend her.

Ann, Spain, 21 November, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

Joann

Joann house sat for me for 3 weeks for my two cockerpoos who are active and boisterous . Joann has a warm and happy persona . She arrived in plenty of time . I found Joann to be loving and caring with my dogs . She is kind curtious and very capable . She kept the house very tidy and clean . Joann is a wonderful lady , travelling in her senior years . I feel blessed to have met her and I always knew my dogs were well loved and cared for . I was sent pictures of my dogs and updated . I would recommend her to anyone

Elizabeth, United Kingdom, 25 October, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since July 2023