Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Responsible, Active, Senior Homeowner Gone Digital Nomad Writer Will Care For Your Home As My Own; Especially Loves Cats

United States


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 2 September 2023
Until: 31 December 2027


Not stated


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a fit, active, non-smoking and responsible single woman. I have owned my own homes since I was 22 so I understand the joys and challenges that pet and homeownership bring. I also have rental property so I know how to call a plumber or other emergency provider.

I am primarily a writer and investor now, but I have been a self-employed communications expert, project manager and executive vice president responsible for client services so I am organized, detail oriented and know how to take initiative.

My lifestyle and personality are relaxed and social and I love the outdoors. A television is not necessary and you are welcome to turn off your cable subscription if you’re going to be gone for a while. I may watch a movie occasionally on my computer, but most of the time I’d rather be reading, writing or taking a good walk—and being at the house a lot makes me a good companion for pets.

Because I am a writer, my one firm requirement is fast, reliable Internet access.

Why they want to house sit

My goal is to give you peace of mind so you can enjoy your vacation or work travel without worry.

I am a full time and financially secure traveler, not a “tourist.” I like actually living in other countries and getting to experience the day-to-day culture for a few months at a time (usually as long as a tourist visa will allow me to stay). That said, I also enjoy visiting different parts of the U.S.--and realized after living in ‘the South’ for a couple of months in 2016 that it seemed more like another country than some of the ‘foreign’ ones I have been to.

I chose to rent my own home and become a ‘digital nomad’ in 2013 after successfully surviving breast cancer and I have had a wonderful time experiencing the U.S. and Canada, Eastern Europe, Ecuador, Mexico and Medellin, Colombia. Although I prefer settling in for a month or more, it’s possible I’ll take a short-term assignment of a week or two if I am near your area anyway so feel free to check in with me.

I really like the concept of the ‘sharing economy’ and have enjoyed staying in B&Bs in many parts of the world. I think housesitting is a bit like that. I get to make some new friends—with you and your pets—learn about a new location and provide a valuable service at the same time. By minimizing expenses for us both, it enables us to travel more than we might otherwise and in my book, that’s a good thing—making the world a smaller place, with more understanding. As Thoreau said, “Friends at a distance make the latitudes and longitudes.”

Their experience

I grew up with pets and always believed in their importance to children so over the years I have had dogs, cats, ducks, hamsters, guinea pigs, snakes, fish, a tarantula, an iguana and a horse. (I don’t relish caring for horses at this point; they are a lot of work!) I never had my own chickens, but I have done housesits where I cared for chickens and collected eggs.

I have done catsits in households with anywhere from 1 to 6 cats, including administering medication and giving insulin shots, and ranging from 2 weeks to 5 months.

What can they bring to the assignment

I am down to earth, practical, adaptable and value different cultures, people and ways of doing things. I will ask you your preferences, care for your home and make sure your pets are loved and protected. Although they will miss you and be overjoyed at your return, I try to make them think of me as “the fun Granny who comes to visit.”

I am:
- Comfortable with running and maintaining a wide variety of properties, from high end luxury villas to small high-rise studios to rural cottages. I enjoy big cities when I know I don’t have to live there forever, but I love being in small towns or the country, especially when there are trees around.
- Comfortable with all size dogs, cats including elderly, other indoor animals and some outdoor animals. Cats especially respond to me.
- Adaptable to different lifestyles, cultures and environments
- Experienced in dealing with household staff

With my experience and expertise, you can:
- Be assured that I will respect and understand the investment you have in your home and will care for your home as I would my own
- Sleep soundly knowing that a competent sitter is protecting your home and property
- Experience the joy of coming back to a warm and welcoming home that is clean and in good order, as you left it.
- Know that your plants will be cared for while you are away
- Leave home worry free, knowing your home and any pets will receive the care and attention they deserve

Last updated: 14 July 2023

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 2 September 2023
Until: 31 December 2027

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Great House Sitter

Christine was wonderful with our home and our small dog. She is a world traveler and pet sits or house sits along her way. I’m glad it worked out for her and for us. Our dog, Hazel was very comfortable and I could tell when we got back home that she had been loved. I hope to see her in the future!

Margie, United States, 13 February, 2024

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since July 2023