Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Reliable and flexible couple available for European house sits



They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 15 May 2024
Until: 31 January 2026


Business owner


They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are a 40-something Belgian-Dutch couple living in a small university town in the Netherlands. We liked our experiences with house and pet sitting so much that we are looking for other houses and pets to take care of!

Sidney runs his own web development company for over a decade now, mostly working from home. Niki recently resigned from her academic career to gain more freedom and work-life balance as a freelance data scientist.

Since we live in a busy town (and country), we are looking for rural or remote settings with preferably lot's of space and nature around the house.

Why they want to house sit

House sitting is for us the ideal way to keep a good work-life balance. It takes us out of our routines and provides a way to live at a slower, more mindful pace.
We enjoy getting to know new places and cultures. House sitting gives us the chance to immerse ourselves for a while in the local culture and landscape.

Their experience

We house sat multiple times (3 times 6 weeks) for acquaintances in 2023 in France. We will continue this in 2024. We took care of the house and the garden (4 hectares), included taking care of the vegetable garden and fruit trees, preparing firewood, mowing, etc. We also helped out with bigger (deferred) maintenance chores such as fixing a windowsill, clearing overgrown parts of the garden, fixing fence posts in the meadow.

We regularly pet sit two dash hounds, Lola and Otis, when their owners are on holiday.

In addition, we stayed on a houseboat for a few months, taking care of a cat and chickens.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are both responsible, caring and open-minded. Since we both run our own company, we are very flexible with timing of house sitting assignments. We listen carefully to and respect wishes of the house owners and keep them well-informed. We take pride in organizing our house sits well so nothing will fall through the cracks.

Sidney grew up with dogs, cats and horses. We both love working in the garden and have experience with (basic) pruning, weeding and vegetable gardening. As such, we know how to deal with common tooling such as chainsaws, brush cutters, etc.

We are fluent in Dutch and English, and can get by in French and German.

Last updated: 14 February 2024

Available to house sit

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 15 May 2024
Until: 31 January 2026

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since October 2023