Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Two for the Road



They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Cat(s) – We have sat cats in all our home sittings but one and they all survived.

Police check

They have a police check


From: 28 October 2018
Until: 20 July 2027




They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a novelist (my wife is the reader) and I'm working on my fourth book. My wife is a retired Air Canada employee. We love to travel, fear little, and are able and willing to move about on short notice.

We own our own home and have a cat who don't seem to mind our trips, probably because my son, daughter-in-law and three granddaughters spoil them while we are away. 

Why they want to house sit

We enjoy visiting different places and I often use them as background in my stories. We usually rent a car for day trips in the areas we stay, and always try to see the sights.

Before each sit we usually read a lot of information on the place we're going. 

Their experience

In early 2009 we spent 6 weeks sitting 2 cats and a flat in Hamburg Germany and several months later stayed 3 weeks with another 2 in a lovely little cottage amongst the grape vines in rural France. In Feb. 2011 we sat 3 adorable cats for 3 weeks in a traditional Japanese home in Kyoto Japan and then spent 5 weeks sitting an old cat south of Melbourne Australia.
In July of 2012 we minded 1 cat in Copenhagen for 3 weeks.

Since then we have sat 2 cats in Lochcarron Scotland and another 6 weeks in Australia plus a cat-less sit in Italy and a two cat sit in Spain.
All cats and plants have survived and we are on speaking terms with all their owners who have agreed to provide references. Since Spain we have sat 2 cats in Yarmouth Nova Scotia Canada, another 2 for 4 weeks in Birmingham England and recently 2 more cats in a lovely cottage in Ireland.

What can they bring to the assignment

I don't mind doing some around-the- house caretaking, such as lawns, watering and some weed pulling. I'm quite handy, knowing which end of a hammer hits the nail and which part of a screwdriver points away from me so I can take care of your home. Mind you, I don't do major renovations but having been a homeowner for almost 50 years in several different houses, I'm up to an occasional emergency.. 

Last updated: 29 August 2023

Available to house sit

Australia, Austria, Brazil, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Denmark, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 28 October 2018
Until: 20 July 2027

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2010

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 4



Absolutely would recommend that you let these 2 house sit for you if you would like to come back to a well kept home and 'children'. They were truly wonderful from their friendly and reliable personalities down to the great care the took in making the house in better shape than they had found it. Did not want to leave as they were so easy to get along with and talk to but glad I did as the our kids and the house was in great shape upon return. Do yourself a favor and ask these 2 to house sit for you!

Jesse and Michelle, Canada, 15 November, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since March 2010