Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Exceptional care for your cats and dogs

Canada

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 1 March 2024
Until: 5 February 2025
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Offering loving care for your pets, conscientious attention to your home, and peace of mind for you while you're away.

I have petsat in the San Francisco Bay Area, Mexico, Spain, Turkey, Montreal, and London, with cats, dogs, koi, and chickens.
Housesits have ranged from ten days in Sonoma Ca to five weeks in London England.
Excellent references available with contact info on request.

Why they want to house sit

I enjoy petsitting. I've had the company of lovely animals in beautiful and interesting places, and have met people whose friendships I value.
I'm a homebody who likes slow travel, with walking, reading, cooking, and quiet mornings with a cup of coffee.
Staying in a real home is always nicer than a hotel, and having the
company of pets is one of the most rewarding and remembered parts of every trip.

Their experience

I've been housesitting since 2009, with dogs, cats, koi, and specialty chickens, usually once or twice a year, with a too-long break for covid. I've just signed up for my first repeat petsit this fall and am ready to go again.
Numerous references are available from all of that time, from several homeowners in the San Francisco Bay Area as well as Montreal, Mexico, and Europe. Many are repeats.

What can they bring to the assignment

I love animals, especially cats and dogs, and have lived with them most of my life. I can't imagine not living with pets, and appreciate their company on holiday as much as at home.
I'm a homeowner, have had a couple of houses renovated, understand how houses "work", and pay attention to the details.
I'm a gardener and my houseplants thrive.
Until retirement I did demanding and responsible work.
My references will tell you i'm honest, flexible, a problem solver, and a good communicator.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 March 2024
Until: 5 February 2025

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
4 November 2023 to 26 February 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Mela is amazing. Do not hesitate to invite her into your home!

Mela Pyper is an absolute dream as a house sitter and a pet sitter. I have had her come to my home three times now! My crotchety old dog loves Mela. And I love Mela too. She is friendly, reliable, a great communicator and an all around great person. She sent me emails every day to let me know what was up. She sent me photos of my dog. She communicated before and after her visits to let me know her plans. She kept the house nice and tidy. She was a fantastic caretaker for my dog. When my dog got sick (not Mela's fault) she was attentive and able to let me know what was going on. And even after she left and went home, we kept in close touch, because she wanted to make sure the dog recovered. That is the person Mela is. Kind, caring and attentive. Just the type of person you can trust to take care of your home and your little fur babies.

Natalie, United States, 06 November, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 6 November 2023