Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Most Reliable House/Pet Sitter You'll Ever Meet

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 13 February 2024
Until: 31 January 2025

Occupation

Retired from Mechanical Engineering

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Who am I?
Hello my name is Ed. I'm retired from Mechanical Engineering, Computers and Technology, and my own online store. For half of my career I worked for myself. I say all this to show professionalism and decision making in my work and personal lives. I have owned three houses over 41 years and know how to care for them. And will care for yours with respect and tidiness as I always have for my own.

I am a very active 73 year old who plays a lot of pickleball (a sport that started in the United States in 1965 and is now growing rapidly worldwide). I like to play 3 to 4 times a week for 2.5 to 4 hours at a time. I only say this to give you an idea of my activity level. I keep myself in good shape. Also, I don’t smoke and never have smoked.

Why they want to house sit

I am retired and love to travel. In February of 2024 I am leaving the United States to travel the world for several years. I am first going to Europe and will be flexible for pet sitting arrangements as they arise. It works favorably for both of us: for you to have a knowledgeable and experienced house and pet sitter and for me to reduce my travel costs.

Their experience

Description of Skills:
I can take care of pet care, plant watering, laundry, mail collection, and trash removal. I have had a total of three cats and three dogs at various times over the years.

Photo Descriptions:
Oscar - took this selfie (a little humor) while laying on my lap that he loved to do.

Stan laying on top of Ollie when they were kittens. I've known them since they were 6 weeks old. This was a rare moment of quiet in between their running around the house.

Stan and Ollie sleeping alongside me when they were older. I sat for them many times over the first 3 years of their lives when their guardians went out of town.

Maverick was very responsive. I taught her to "groan" on command. It was humorous and very easy to do. She did it naturally whenever she laid down so I just reinforced saying a command when she did it. I also taught her to stay at the curb of a street and not cross until I said it was okay, without a leash, and even if I walked all the way across the street! We had a wonderful relationship.

Molly (black and white) and June (all black) on a hiking trip.

Molly - I'm reading a book with Molly titled, "The Hidden Life of Dogs."

What can they bring to the assignment

What can I bring to your pet sitting? All of the above - knowledge of home ownership, keeping a home organized and tidy, and knowledge of how to care for pets and show them attention and affection.

Here is what the guardian of Oscar, Stan, and Ollie wrote about me:
“Ed loves cats (and dogs, too). He has pet sit for me many times over the years. First with Oscar, a 17 year-old sweetheart-of-a-cat that, sadly, passed away in 2020. Ed was attentive and extra affectionate with him (my cat's shy, but he loves Ed). After Oscar passed, I adopted two kittens that took to Ed instantly. Ed kept up with their crazy kitten ways and delighted in their antics. In fact, he has cat sit for me many times as Stan and Ollie have grown over their first three years. They like to snuggle with him. Ed also watered my plants (both inside and out), collected my mail, and kept the house in order while I travelled. He's tidy, kind, conscientious, thoughtful, and a wonderful house sitter. I can't recommend him highly enough!”
- Vicki W, guardian of Stan and Ollie, Fort Collins, Colorado, US

Let's Connect:
Send me a message and I’ll reply within 24 hours, usually less.

Available to house sit

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 13 February 2024
Until: 31 January 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 20 November 2023