Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Chris H - Retired and Widowed Yorkshireman. Reliable and Sensible

United Kingdom


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Reptile(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 10 May 2024
Until: 22 March 2025


Not stated


They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Hi, I am a fit and healthy 68 year old retired and widowed man living near family (daughter and grandkids) in my own house in Lincolnshire, UK. Following a long career as a security consultant, I recently worked part-time as a local handyman. My wife and I also lived for 6 years owning a large villa in North Cyprus, that I helped renovate. I enjoy fishing and making things with wood. I had a small dog that I kind of inherited from my wife, but when I found him a temporary new home to be able to visit my son in the USA this year, I decided to allow the pet-sitter to keep him when she asked - I miss him, but, given my plans to start travelling more, I felt this was the best thing for both him and me. We had several dogs and cats over the years and I enjoy looking after both. I have loads of common sense and would treat anyone else's property with respect. I used to smoke till 5 years ago and now I use a vape and can happily do this outside (vapes do not leave any smell, but I would never infringe on the owner's wishes in this regard). I dont drink except the odd glass of decent red wine on special occassions and sometimes on a Saturday night ! I would say, whilst usually modest, that I am a 'safe pair of hands' and ' a man to be trusted'.

Why they want to house sit

Since my wife died almost two years ago, I have done a lot of thinking, but not much else. I have always enjoyed travelling and I have decided that I now wish to spend a proportion of my life visiting new places and seeing new things - both in the UK and abroad. I feel that 'House Sitting' would be a great way to do this and I know I can meet the needs of many home owners. I am happy also looking after pets and, although very different, I get on great with both dogs and cats for example - I regularly dog-sit my daughters two large dogs these days (they scrag me every time we meet!!) - and we have had 2 cats and many small animals over the years. But, having said all that, at the same time I am equally happy to keep my own company, read a book or watch TV.

Their experience

I am new to house sitting, but I have loads of practical experience and am handy with practical skills, and very experienced with safety and security issues (40 years work in this field, following three years as a young policeman).
I currently offer no references or an up-to-date 'Police Check', but I could obtain either of these if they become important (in UK you can request a copy of your Police record - which will include one where you have nothing recorded - but this takes time to do and involves a fee. You can also similarly request a 'DBS' check which will state your fitness to be around children, but this will have limited value to house-sitting assignments). I can also forward you my 'Linkedin' page that shows my career profile and background.
I have travelled a fair amount with my work over the years as a consultant - visiting places from North & South America, Europe and the Middle and Far East, but very often just seeing hotels and work premises and the journeys inbetween. I have also lived abroad in the past, with 12 months in Holland early in my career and six years in North Cyprus (from where I still did some consultancy work abroad on a part-time basis), where we bought and refurbished a large house and converted it into a villa with a pool.

What can they bring to the assignment

Trustworthyness and reliability.

Last updated: 10 May 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 10 May 2024
Until: 22 March 2025

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2023

Personal details

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since December 2023