Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

WIN-WIN-WIN for all!

United States


They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check


From: 21 March 2024
Until: 7 June 2026
(see their busy times below)


Not stated


They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

-- Mature, active, healthy 60+ year olds, non-smokers, no drug use.

— My wife is a retired school principal and counselor.

-- Educated (academically as well as practical real-world knowledge), well-travelled, and enjoy experiencing new places, people, and customs.

-- We both compete in Masters/Senior Games (Canada, USA, New Zealand, Australia, so far) (track and field, race walking, indoor rowing, swimming).

-- Married 20+ years; six grown children; six grandchildren.

-- Mild-mannered, quiet and calm disposition. Very patient.

Why they want to house sit

We have a strong desire to take our travel and life experiences to a whole new level by creating a "Win-Win-Win" situation for all involved:

1. A Win for your pets: they get to stay in their own home and familiar surroundings with their consistent routine. Cared for by loving people providing personalized attention and actively engaging them physically and mentally. This is much better than the impersonal kennel situation, or being taken out of their home.

2. A Win for you: While away from home you can be rest assured and confident your pets and home are being pampered with the utmost care and diligence.

3. A Win for us: We gain satisfaction knowing that you get to travel and have a much needed break from the usual daily routine. House-sitting enables us to elevate our travel to a whole new level. We aren't interested in the "bus tour through 10 countries and seven capital cities in 14-days" type travel. We want to take it slower by engaging in responsible and meaningful travel. To travel with purpose. To experience what the typical tourist rushes past. Our lives will be enriched more through house-sitting than being on a tour bus.

Their experience

-- In an "earlier life" I was a homesteader raising sheep, llamas, goats, poultry, rabbits, pigs and horses. And, of course an array of farm dogs and cats.

-- Before and after the homestead period we both had pet dogs, cats, turtles, rodents (mice, gerbils, hamsters, guinea pigs).

-- Have house-sat and pet-sat for family and friends over the years.

-- Have been home-owners for 40+ years, with gardens (flower and vegetable), trees (ornamental, fruit, and timber). We do our own landscaping and gardening in a strict HOA community.

-- Presently volunteering at a horse-centered therapy facility where I assist people of all ages and abilities ride a horse. Also, I work as a substitute in local schools. Both the therapy facility and the schools required background checks.

-- Very thorough background checks done by Canadian and US authorities for my US Permanent Resident card.

-- Experience driving in North America, Europe, and New Zealand/Australia.

What can they bring to the assignment

-- Our skills, knowledge and experiences from a life living with animals and homes in many different climates and situations.

-- Common sense practicality.

-- Honest and reliable. Respectful. Flexible.

-- Take pride in completing any task successfully.

-- Love and respect animals and people.

Last updated: 21 March 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 21 March 2024
Until: 7 June 2026

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
24 March 2024 to 3 April 2024, 7 July 2024 to 11 August 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2024

Personal details

Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since March 2024