Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Artist and maker



They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Farm animal(s)

Police check

They have a police check


From: 18 October 2024
Until: 18 March 2026


Artist / Stonemason


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello, I am an artist and maker, interested in wide open spaces and somehow translating them into artworks. I have lived and worked in many places in Europe and the US currently looking for an opportunity to experience and explore new surroundings while I research my next work.

Why they want to house sit

Professionally I have worked in a number of positions in order to support an artist practice, the longest of which being a language teacher to adults and children. Presently I work as a stone mason specifically on restoring and preserving ancient towers and churches, of which there are many in Ireland.
As an artist I like to make paintings and sculptures using acrylic, wood, canvas and sometimes stone. This I find is usually cyclical where a period of research comes before a period of production. While in the research phase I take on different jobs or contracts not only to make a little money but also to gain new perspectives - which brings me back to house sitting.

Their experience

I have undertaken 3 house sitting arrangements mostly from 2018 to 2021. One situation was 6 months and involved taking care of 3 hunting dogs and contributing labour towards maintaining a forest path.
Another situation was short term and involved taking care of a single cat in a beautiful remote location.
While an ongoing house sit sees me taking care of a cat and a dog in a small village in France which I do from time to time throughout the year.

What can they bring to the assignment

I am currently based in Ireland but own an old bakery in a village in France which I have begun renovating myself and which I will work on as I find the time and budget over the years. I am very good with my hands, practically minded, and like to repair and maintain my own belongings to the best of my abilities. I love animals, am a vegetarian, and have cared for dogs, cats, horses, sheep and cows in my time.

P.S - This is my second 'Mind my House' account. The first was wiped /lost due to technical issues

Last updated: 7 May 2024

Available to house sit

Africa, Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 18 October 2024
Until: 18 March 2026

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2024

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Genuine, trustworthy, calm. The perfect housesitter!

I reached out to Derick on an ultra short notice, basically the same day of a housesit, since my friend unfortunately had to cancel looking after my fluffy feline for reasons outside her control, while I was away for 5 days. Derick replied quickly and stepped in. He was perfect for this little rural cottage and quiet place in the Burren. As an artist he took in the depths of the beautiful landscape and his wonderfully open, genuine and calm nature fitted the stillness of my place. And most importantly, my fuzzy (and very sensitive) feline who doesn't take warmly to everyone, instantly gave Derick her rolling acceptance and went up to greet his legs, as they do... I trusted my home and my cat in Dericks hands instantly. As I returned home, I could tell my cat was chilled and happy (I can always tell!) and the house felt great to return to too. I will recommend Derick without hesitation. Your house and pet will be blessed with his presence. He will always be welcome to housesit for me again, should I be so lucky he would be happy to do so. Thank you.

Hanne, Ireland, 29 April, 2021

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since April 2024