Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Peter (67) and Vicky (69), retired, fit, healthy and responsible. We are very keen to see something of the world while we still can! We'd consider a house sitting position anywhere in the world. Email us and if all goes well we'll be on our way

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Pets: all domestic animals - not so confident with horses. Love dogs, chickens, tortoises and cats.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 22 March 2022
Until: 3 May 2024

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We have been happily retired for over 9 years and have spent that time seeing new countries and new people. Lots of time in Brazil, South Africa, all over Europe, Australia and Fiji. Every house sit is different, with different needs so we now believe we are experienced in most things. Sadly we speak only English but we have had no problem communicating with the help of our laptops. Neither of us is afraid of hard work, we are sensible and conscientious. We are looking for short term sits. This can be remote as we are quite happy with our own company. It could also be a flat in the middle of town !!
We are not great fans of the English winter so really excited when we can leave the UK then.

Why they want to house sit

We miss having pets of our own now (as we are away too much) and it's nice to walk the dog and cuddle the cat. Vicky particularly loved the tortoise we looked after this year. She also loves chickens !!

We are ready to explore the world, as for the first time in our lives we have no responsibilities and can please ourselves what we do and where we go.  We will look carefully at anything offered to us and really do not expect to turn anything down.  Now we are just starting to explore the UK as well.

If you look at the photos you will see some of the places we have stayed - plus we mix with the locals and that is far more interesting than a holiday hotel.

Their experience

We have looked after property for friends and family and can give references from Mindmyhouse houseowners as well. Three months in South Africa was spent looking after a few different properties with animals and sometimes workers. In Brazil again we had workers to supervise who were building extra chalets and we ran the B&B for them. We are very experienced and really enjoy what we do. We housesat for Lizzie last year on the Welsh border and returned from a marvellous 2 weeks in North Yorkshire, looking after a really old dog who had a great personality.We have references of course. Vicky is a Montessori trained Nursery Nurse who was also a medical secretary in a former life. She is a volunteer driver for a local charity for the silver haired brigade with a CBR police check up to date and has only just stopped being a fireman on the Bure Steam Railway. Peter is a chef but can turn his hand to most tasks, very practical and security conscious.
We both play a mean hand of Bridge. We have been back to Brazil last year whilst the family go once again to the States for their annual holiday so we think they must be happy with us. We have returned from a month in UAE which was a very different experience. Their dog, Timmy, looked like the Dulux dog and we miss him. We are often asked to return which is wonderful but we really have a lot of countries to see. We spent 2 years helping our daughter with babies in Riyadh.

What can they bring to the assignment

You may feel confident that your property will be looked after as if it were our own, plus any animals will be cherished. We have no animals at home because of the travelling so really enjoy looking after yours.
We are happy to do odd jobs.
We are also on Skype so you can speak to us personally. Our Skype address is vicky.forder1. Also on facebook.
We will answer everyone asap.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 22 March 2022
Until: 3 May 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2011

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 5 April 2022