Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Flexible, reliable animal-lover ready for short-term sitting positions

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s) – Total: 14 cats, 8 dogs, 5 chickens

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 27 April 2022
Until: 27 April 2023

Occupation

Home owner/Aspiring writer

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Hello home-owners! My name is Brian and I am a 36 year old animal lover with a B.A. in History of Art & Architecture and English Literature from the University of Pittsburgh.

I live in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with my 6 month old cat Sybil. I'm the general manager of a bar/restaurant here in town. When I'm not working I'm playing music with my folk-band, Her Ladyship.

I am a non-smoker with a tenacious desire for travel and an equally tenacious liking for literature, libraries, films, and the arts.

I am a quiet person, often preferring to keep to myself, my books and writings. I play the guitar and sing--mostly soft, acoustic, folk-like music.

I am definitely a cat lover. I grew up around cats & kittens (indoor and outdoor both). Throughout my childhood my family kept an average of 4 cats around the house at a time so I feel quite akin to them in general. (Somewhat embarrassingly, I have a small, line-drawing tattoo on my arm that confesses to my affinity for the animal).

I also grew up around two large and energetic Dalmatian dogs (Farley and Darby) and a female Golden Retriever (Teddy). They also were great friends over the years who definitely kept me physically active all the while.

Why they want to house sit

I am open to most any short-term house sitting opportunities.

Having grown up in a military family, I moved from town to town throughout my childhood and as a result I have been given a strong inclination to travel. And what could be better that being able to do so in the company of animals?!

Their experience

I have lots of experience taking care of homes and animals...

I've cared for dogs and cats most routinely. However I was also responsible for the care of 5 chickens during a 3 month house-sitting position in southern France (along with a gentleman of a cat named Francis). During this stay I mowed the lawn of the estate, kept care of the house-plants, cleaned the chicken coop on the weekly basis, and kept in regular contact with the home-owners.

A few autumns back, I spent 3 months in central Idaho keeping care of a lovely home and two cats (Tiny and Peanut) while the home-owners were off cycling around Eastern Europe . There was no internet connection in the home (which was entirely suitable to me) but there was a wonderful library in town in which I was fortunate enough to be able to indulge so I had plenty of books to keep me company during the autumn and winter.

Over the autumn of 2011 I spent another 2.5 months house-sitting a beautiful home in Southern France. During this post, I cared for 4 large and loving dogs and 10 cats (of every variety!). There was a degree of responsibility in dealing with this many animals, but they were all great friends to me. Regardless, I still had plenty of time to myself to read and write, and to explore the surrounding French countryside--which is spectacular if I might say. The family for which I house-sat was great. They're very understanding and generous in their want to make me comfortable during my stay and, as a result, we developed a nice rapport over our time working together.

Directly from France I made my way to Southwestern England, where I spent 2.5 winter months keeping watch of a cozy home and one sweet elderly cat. Situated in a small town, I was given the pleasure of getting to know the ins and outs of the market-town's amenities as well as the surrounding pastoral settings. Again with access to the town library, I was able to read the winter through. And while the home-owner was away, I maintained regular correspondence to keep him informed about house and personal issues pertinent to the situation.

I have three times house-sat here in Pittsburgh for a young couple and tended to their home and their two sweet Pomeranians (also arranged through Mindmyhouse).

I've also been witness to multiple cat-pregnancies and helped rear kittens on the occasions.

I house sat this past summer in New Orleans, LA for a lovely couple and watched over their home and collection of cute cats and dogs.

What can they bring to the assignment

With years of homeowner experience, I can be sympathetic to the anxieties associated with leaving a home while traveling. I promise to care for your property as though it were my own. I am not afraid to work or make minor home repairs or otherwise. I can tend to yards and gardens and I have plenty of experience with tools and fixing basic household problems.

I can offer house-sitting and work-related references to attest to my respectability and reliability. I'm financially responsible. I have have a valid driver's license. I also an avid bicyclist and maintain my own bicycles for transportation purposes.

I'm not particular about location...because my father was in the military and we moved as a family all over the United States, I easily adapt to new living situations (and love doing so in fact).

I studied abroad during University in Tokyo, Japan. A decade ago I walked the entirety of the Appalachian Trail so having to walk a distance to a store for grocery supplies is no problem at all.

I have traveled here and there internationally (Iceland, Ireland, England, Canada, the Bahamas, etc.) and have a great desire to travel more. I am excited to experience for any climate (cold winters included)!

Thanks for your time!

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 27 April 2022
Until: 27 April 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2011

Personal details

Age: 26-35 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Great job

Came back to a clean house and happy, well fed pets. Brian and his wife Berry are friendly and reliable. I would gladly have them house sit for me again.

Gary, United States, 22 June, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 27 April 2022