Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Quiet Country Home with animals

France, Saint-Sernin, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)
  • Chicken(s)
  • Fish
  • Goat(s)

5 terriers - Mum and 4 pups; 2 donkeys, 2 goats, geese and hens.,.& fish lake

Duration

  • Dates: variable

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We are looking for an animal friendly country loving person / couple who are reliable, trustworthy and enjoys gardening/maintenance/animals etc in exchange for free accommodation This might suit a retired active couple. Current dates required are 5th February for a week and early March, although if you wanted to stay over from the February Housesit right through to March and beyond this is possible, please get in touch to discuss.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

To help keep on top of the weeding, garden maintenance, and to look after our small friendly menagerie. We have 5 friendly terriers who require lots of cuddles and walks, they are great fun but not for the faint hearted. We are flexible but could do with an extra pair of hands most of the time.

What are the good features of the property and location

We live in a quiet rural location in beautiful countryside, sourrounded by fields, woods and vines. The house is largish and comfortable, central heating and wood burner in the winter plenty of our own logs, gazebo and garden swimming pool for the summer. We have 2 gites which are let out in the summer. However one would be taken by house sitter for this opportunity.
We are near the town of Duras with the chateaux worth a visit, as are a lot of the vineyards and tastings that are there for the sampling of their wonderful wines. St Foye La Grande and Bergerac also have lovely Saturday markets to explore and boast wonderful architecture, as does Issigac on a Sunday morning.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Be prepared to help out as per above, flexible and fun.
We work from home (we are not yet retired), so we do have an office in the house that will be manned day times during the working week, by a small team of nice people. So there will be a person on hand day times if you have any queries, this is sometimes now automated and manned remotely.

Last updated: 3 January 2022
7 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Dordogne, France with Bastide towns nearby

We loved staying in Tina and David's cozy stone gite while helping out on their rural property for 5 weeks. It was a joy getting to know their many sweet and rascally pets. There is a lot to keep busy with the cottage garden, extensive flower beds, pool and 5 dogs, 2 donkeys, 2 goats, chickens and geese, but we enjoyed working as a team to make sure everyone had a good work/play balance in the weeks we were around. Tina and David are great hosts and we were able to explore the nearby medieval towns, local markets and shared several delicious and beautiful meals together. We came to help give them a chance to take a few days respite from their work and left having two new friends. We will definitely be back for more fun in the future!

Elizabeth, United States, 20 June, 2021

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions