Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

House/dog-sit gorgeous Perthshire, SCOTLAND

  • Location: United Kingdom, CRIEFF
  • Period available: 9 months, 4 weeks
  • Starts: 20 August 2018
  • Ends: 20 June 2019
  • Testimonials: They have 2 testimonials (view below)
  • Pets: Dog(s) – 2 small non-allergenic dogs who don't malt/shed either.
  • Last updated: 12 August 2018

About this assignment

Reliable and knows dogs well. Good reviews. Committed to staying the period... thanks. Respectful of my home... thanks again.

There will be other opportunities in the future too.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

3 dog walks a day (don't need to be long walks)... morning, afternoon and shorter one at bed time. Kept on leads please... thanks. Keep home safe. No drugs or lots of alcohol... I want to be sure my dogs are happy and safe... thank you again.

What are the good features of the property and location

It's a lovely, bright, spacious upper (first floor) Victorian flat with amazing views (you can't see all the views in the photos but there are more and you'll be convinced seeing them in real life).

Crieff is, I call it, the entrance to the Highlands. It's an utterly beautiful area, quiet and with a couple of golf courses, a quaint wee town (or large village), woodlands, forests, lots of outdoor activities (walks, running, cycling) and 15 minutes from a the Loch of Earn. Only 20 miles from Perth. There are local petrol stations and a Co-op supermarket plus a couple of smaller ones and a local vegetable store. A big Tesco is 20 minutes drive away. You can hear owls at night sometimes. There's the Murraypark Hotel next door which has a comfortable bar and a restaurant, both of which serve great food! It's not far from Crieff Hydro Hotel around the corner which offers a small cinema, bars and cafes plus lots of outdoor activities (horse-riding, quad-biking, cycling, tennis, air-rifles, et al.

Excellent Internet connection.

Combi boiler so constant hot water and heating if required.

Kitchen has gas hobs and gas oven. Microwave, toaster, cafetierre, kettle, washing machine, fridge/freezer, and all other expected equipment, pots, pans, etc.

They're 2 healthy and fit smallish dogs (best friends female Westie...(a bit bossy and not very cuddly but does like a neck massage and tummy-tickles) and male part-Poodle (he's very friendly and very sensitive)). They're both non-allergenic and non-shedding.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Definite availability and the potential to come back too because I want to be able to do little bit of travelling.

Not to feed the dogs any "human" food.

There are a few steps to the flat so, if you have knee/hip problems it probably isn't ideal.

I may come home earlier but, if that happens, you're most welcome to stay for free, use the place as your base and come/go as you please.

Testimonials

Absolutely delightful host and fantastic experience!

I house-sat for Annie for a few weeks Nov.- Dec. '17, and the experience was phenomenal! This was not only my first house-sitting assignment, but also my first trip to Europe, and Annie guided me the entire way, ensuring my journey went as smoothly as possible. She kept in contact, giving me plenty of information weeks ahead of my arrival, and offered tips on sightseeing/ attractions nearby. She ensured before she derparted that I was perfectly comfortable around the dogs (as well as them to me) and filled me in with everything I needed to know about caring for each of them. Pogo and Freddy are such amazing dogs to take care of! One would think that travelling alone to Scotland for a month during winter would be somewhat depressing, but with these two, there wasn't a dull moment the entire time. They were both very open to a new person taking over and gave me absolutely no problems during my stay. I can say that the most enjoyable times of my days there were while walking the two of them through town, or out on the trails. Annie's flat is lovely, in a fantastic quiet town, surrounded by the most beautiful country. Although being small, Crieff contains numerous spots to have a nice coffee/ tea, grab a quick lunch, socialize while having some drinks at a pub, or a nice dinner. Suprisingly (coming from the States), having a car in this small country town is quite unnecessary, as the local bus connects to other larger towns, which, in turn, have access through rail/ bus to practically the entire country. Annie is a wonderful person to become acquainted with, and her pups are both bundles of joy. I highly recommend sitting for her.

Kaleb, United States, 10 February, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

Housesitting with Freddi and Pogo

I had a wonderful experience in Crieff looking after the adorable Freddi and Pogo. The house is beautiful and easy to maintain with plenty to see and do in the local area. Annie was very organised and clear with instructions. She went above and beyond to make my stay amazing and I am extremely grateful for her trust. I wouldn't hesitate to housesit again.

Leila, Australia, 18 June, 2017

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions
Discover an adventure today - Register now.

Top