Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Ongoing housesitters/caretakers required for beautiful Normandy Chateau!

France, Tinchebray-Bocage, Normandie

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Chicken(s)

They are all very easy going and will not require a huge amount of care!

Duration

  • Dates: variable

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We are looking for mature and responsible adults, may suit a couple or friends. We have a large chateau with 18 acres of land to be manned whilst we are absent. We also have two very friendly dogs, which may or may not be around depending on the time. One Labrador called Barley who is the most placid dog you'll meet and the lady of the castle, a very cute dachshund cross terrier called Frankie! We also plan to have some poultry and possible other small farm animals.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

A presence on the property is the main requirement. However if the dogs are with you they will require daily feeding and walking. We are surrounded by beautiful Normandy countryside so this shouldn't be a chore! We also have volunteers staying with us on a regular basis and we would like our house sitters/caretakers to be involved in supporting our volunteers in the projects they are working on. The vegetable garden will also require some watering and weeding and the lawns will need a mow and some maintenance (not all 18 acres!) - our volunteers are also involved in these activities.

What are the good features of the property and location

You will benefit from staying in a stunning 17th century chateau situated in the lush landscapes of Normandy in the region of Orne, within walking distance of the small village of Frenes. The nearest town is Tinchebrey, a typical French town offering all main amenities including bars, restaurants, a cinema and of course patisseries. With the hills of Swiss Normandy just around the corner offering stunning national parks along with winding rivers and rock fronts that offer a whole host of activities for tourists.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Aside from our very friendly neighbours the other side of the lane the property is very isolated. You will require transport as the nearest large town with supermarkets etc is approximately 13 km away. The property is old with a large part of it currently being renovated however the main living area is very comfortable and spacious with a very well equipped commercial kitchen.

Last updated: 7 February 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.