Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Peaceful mini farm near Vienna, Austria looking for helpers/farm-sitters for 2-4 weeks October/November, 3-4 weeks December/January, and long-term spring/summer 2020

Austria, Klausen-Leopoldsdorf, Lower Austria


  • Cat(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)
  • Chicken(s)


  • Period available: 3 weeks, 4 days
  • Starts: 16 October 2019
  • Ends: 10 November 2019


They have 2 testimonial s (view below)


They have WIFI

About this assignment

Currently looking for a farm-oriented people for several time periods 2019-2020.

We love to have repeat helpers/sitters who can get familiar with the place and the tasks involved. A trial stay in fall 2019 is also possible for people with flexible schedules who are interested in helping/sitting here long-term or multiple stays in 2020.

Experience with gardening, carpentry, and farm animals preferred.
We need people capable of managing a busy small farm on their own. When we are at home we are very open to flexible scheduling so that you can travel part of the time, while using this as a home base. A good opportunity for people who want to tour around Europe.

Accommodation is a cute newly renovated tiny house/cabin with a loft bed for 2 people, electricity, wifi, kitchenette, shower and compost toilet. There is a wood stove for heating during cold weather.

We don't smoke, drink alcohol, or use drugs and appreciate the same in others.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

We usually need help with gardening, carpentry, maintenance/renovation of buildings, and animal care. Prior experience with rural living, gardening, carpentry, and horses preferred. The work may also include some domestic household duties, cleaning, organizing, food preservation, and interacting with other guests and visitors. This is real farm work, not just housesitting, so you need to be in good physical shape and energetic! Enthusiasm and willingness to help with all sorts of tasks necessary.

At times when we are away, you would need to be on site most of the time and take full responsibility for the garden, animal care, maintenance and repairs etc.

A general guideline would be 25 hours work per person/per week in exchange for accommodation and food. Providing your own food and working fewer hours is usually an option during the winter months.

When we are at home, the work can be arranged on 3-4 consecutive days, leaving you free to go hiking, see the city, or travel farther afield the rest of the time.

What are the good features of the property and location

We are an artist/musician American/Austrian couple, 48 and 59, living on a mini-farm in the famous Vienna Woods outside the city. One of the goals of our farm is to educate and inspire others towards more sustainable, creative lifestyles.

This is a beautiful scenic area; sort of the first baby foothills of the Alps. A rare combination of quiet peaceful seclusion where you can see the stars at night, surrounded by thousands of acres of public forest land for hiking, yet only 45 minutes from the city center of Vienna.

This is an ideal home base for touring the amazing city of Vienna, the rest of Austria and central Europe. The world class museums and amazing architecture of the city, plus medieval castles, historic monasteries and churches, quaint villages, and gorgeous mountains all within an easy day's drive if you decide to rent a car, or by the slightly slower but very efficient European public transport options.

We live in a historic 100 year old, traditional Alp style cottage and are restoring the similar cottage next door. This tiny village of 10 cottages was originally an experimental homesteading community established by the Austrian government in the 1920's. Today the cottages are privately owned but still surrounded by protected land. We are working to restore our new property with a modern twist on its origins, demonstrating sustainable small-scale food production.

Our property includes pastured poultry, a horse, cats, ever-expanding organic fruit and vegetable gardens, forested hillside, two cottages and outbuildings, and a tiny house/guest cabin as the primary accommodation for helpers/sitters.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Generally you will be responsible for preparing your own food with supplies provided; occasional shared meals possible depending on our schedules. We mostly eat a whole foods diet and try not to buy a lot of processed or junk food. If you have special dietary restrictions, this can likely be accommodated but please discuss with us ahead of time. Sometimes it may be an option to work fewer hours and provide your own food.

The closest village is about 5km from here and the train station about 10 km. The city boundary is a 10 minute train ride, 20-25 minutes to the center. We can provide bicycles for your use. We can sometimes provide rides to the train station.

Last updated: 3 April 2019

Enlarge map


Wonderful people (and place!) to house-sit for

We stayed with Wendy and Veit for 3 months and had an amazing time. Wendy taught us everything we needed to help out in the garden and take care of the animals: cats, a horse, and 18 chickens. She is extremely knowledgeable about all things gardening and organic and we learned a lot! Veit is an accomplished artist, and his photographs decorate the inside walls of the houses. The cabin provided for us to stay in was very comfortable (and cute!) and the surrounding area is beautiful! Both Wendy and Veit went out of their way to make sure that we had a good stay. They are proactive in thinking of any questions that might arise during the course of a stay, and answering them ahead of time. If either of them mentions that they will do something, you can be confident that they will follow through every time. Communication with them is reliable and a pleasure; it's exactly the experience you hope you'll have during a house stay. Whether you're familiar with Austria or only a temporary visitor, Wendy and Veit will help you feel at home.

Annalisa, United States, 09 June, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

Home away from home!

First of all thank you to Wendy and Veit for hosting us, it has been such a pleasure to be on the farm! :) We stayed with Wendy and Veit for almost 4 months. Helping them with projects around the property. They are both very accommodating and inviting. We had no issues during our stay. Often we would go into Vienna on our days off with the offer of transport to and from the train station. We had our own place where we could sleep and eat which was perfect for two people. Wendy and Veit are flexible on working days which gives a great opportunity to do smalls trips. Thank you once again and all the best with the adventures on the farm! :)

Rebecca, 10 April, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions