Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Get Away from it all in a Country Town

  • Location: Uruguay, Minas 30000
  • Period available: 1 month, 2 weeks
  • Starts: 11 July 2018
  • Ends: 31 August 2018
  • Testimonials: They have no testimonials
  • Pets: Dog(s), Cat(s) – My dog and cat are used to having sitters, they love everybody
  • Last updated: 17 May 2018

About this assignment

Nina Simone, the dog, is only 2 years old, so she is still a puppy in many ways. It works out better for her , and for the sitter, if she is walked at least every other day, otherwise she is too hyper. She is a big , local breed, a short haired ( or "smooth" ) collie... I often take her, since i dont walk that well, to the river, which is only 3 blocks and let her off leash at the dog park there, to swim as exercise. The cat does her own thing, she comes in to eat and will sleep in the house at night.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

i dont really care about how you take care of the house, my main concern is the animals. This is not a fancy place, but it does have the "bells and whistles" as far as an Uruguayan house goes: tile floors, a wood stove in the big living room, 2 patios, plenty of hot water in the bathroom, 2 and a half bedrooms, cozy kitchen, 6 blocks from town with a nice view of downtown from the backyard.

What are the good features of the property and location

This area can have rain in the winter, when you would be here. So the best feature is that it is high and dry. - so less moldy and wet, as other parts of this country can be. The living room has a big woodstove. I have excellent wifi. This is the drum section of town, although there may not be nightly sessions, as carneval just finished. This state, Lavalleja, has many natural wonders, 2 rivers, 1 lake, a waterfall, and there are plenty of other things to do ( dog is ok by herself during the days, so you can go have fun ) such as 4 history museums, a good library, music/art cultural center, big feria ( farm) market 2 days a week, a gold mine, an archeological dig, and numerous places to hike. I will introduce you to all my freinds - i have lived here 4 years - so you will have contacts to help you during your time here. Montevideo is only 2 hours away by bus, when you need time in the big city. The beaches are 1 hour away .

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Very few people in this town speak other than Spanish. My Spanish is terrible, and i get by, but I am willing to work hard to get my needs across. My dog, like i said, can be very rambunctious. This is an old fashioned town that closes its business doors for siesta every day. Many other things are slow, old, and very different than you might be used to. So , I would say, the person who takes this assignment should be someone who likes a very laid back, mellow existance. Definately NOT all the foods people are used to are available. i have no TV.

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.

Top