Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

for those who enjoy life to the fullest

Belgium, Temse, Vlaanderen

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Chicken(s)

1 friendly senior dog and 3 chicken producing organic eggs for your breakfast

Duration

  • Period available: 1 week
  • Starts: 4 April 2019
  • Ends: 11 April 2019

Testimonials

They have 3 testimonial s (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

YOU ARE THE PERSON OR COUPLE WE ARE SEARCHING FOR.
If you:
- are 40+
- you adore dogs and have lots of experience with senior dogs
- are open-minded with lots of positive energy
- are passionated, dedicated and responsible
- are careful, and respectful.
- like art, design, culture in general
- embrace the silence
- enjoy a tiny quiet village in the countryside

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Taking care of our house, garden and belongings. We would be grateful if you could maintain our garden, though only if you feel like
Ou very sweet old stray dog is resting almost the entire day. He needs some small walks only and lots of love.
There are 3 chicken in the backyard requiring food, water and once a week new straw.

What are the good features of the property and location

‘Sharpen your senses’ The working and living habitat of the duo of artists is embedded in a beautiful riverscape and situated on the site of a reinvigorated shipyard. Tracks of the industrial past were laboriously processed in the contemporary setting it is today. This crossbreeding of the here and now with the past makes for a transcendental atmosphere. It entails an open invitation to reflect on the perennial antipodes of the strangeness of the vibrantly aesthetic and the soothing feeling of the familiar.

Tielrode is a picturesque village nestled in the beautiful river landscape where Durme and Schelde meet. By ferry you can cross the river to one of the few remaining nature reserves in Belgium. A green oasis where you can hike or cycle to your heart’s content. And yet it is just a stone’s throw away from Brussels, Antwerp and Ghent.

Un unforgettable stay in a eco friendly accommodation.
You will have your full equipped private studio in the venue. (including kitchen, bathroom. Towels and toiletries included)
(While we are away the private, working and public art spaces will be closed)

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

- passport / residence permit / address / phone number/ driver’s license for Europe if you want to use our car (deposit of a guarantee is requested)
- a proof of insurance for providing coverage against third-party liability (against damage to the buildings, car and belongings) In most of the cases your travel insurance covers this

> Restrictions: no other guests, no parties or meetings are allowed

Last updated: 13 January 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Nice stay for a week

We stayed for almost a week at their place. Taking care of their premises and dog. The place is not a standard house but an artist place. Art is created in the workshops and exposed in their showrooms. We were guided along all present pieces of art with an explanation of the makers and making of. It it a high standard place in many aspects. The adjacent private appartment is clean and complete. We were asked to take care of their old and friendly dog Zorba during their absence. It was a pleasure to do walks in the close neighbourhood of the riverside. Sofie and Luc did their best to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. We offered to come back for a next sit in future!!

Maarten, Netherlands, 04 October, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

Peace, nature and art.

We spent 11 days looking after Zorba, the Greek dog who was the most lovable old gentleman. He touched our hearts, and although he is about 16, he is such a happy and gentle soul. Luc and Sofie were so welcoming and kind. They allowed us to use their bikes, so we spent most days cycling around the fantastic riverside cycle routes (miles and miles of easy tracks between villages and towns, with free ferry boat across the rivers). We were lucky to have beautiful weather. It is easy to get to Antwerp or Ghent using the efficient public transport. The house is fascinating, with great art work and design everywhere. The large garden has lots of trees producing apples, plums, quince and walnuts -as well as the chickens who will give you eggs! A really healthy, peaceful and uplifting experience. Thank you, Sofie and Luc.

Caroline, United Kingdom, 21 September, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

Belgium

We have just returned from a most wonderful housesit in Tielrode a beautiful little town in Belgium. Luc and Sophie couldn't have been any nicer. They made sure we had everything we needed including yummy chocolates! The house was amazing and we quickly settled in. We fell in love with Zorba who loved his walks along the many canal paths nearby and the odd midnight walk around the town with Patrick! We highly recommend this housesit. It was overall a delightful experience and we got a good insight into life in Belgium.

Marge, Ireland, 02 July, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions