Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Our Cosy Rural Malay cottage needs a house/pet sitter from 29th August to 9th September 2019.

Malaysia, Kampung Kubang Badak, Langkawi, Kedah

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Goat(s)

Leo is a male Dog with a gentle personality. Two female cats. The grey cat named Missy is quiet and does require any fuss but Cola (part Bengal cat) is very demanding and want attention all the time. Thomas the goat just needs to be fed every second day a

Duration

  • Period available: 1 week, 4 days
  • Starts: 29 August 2019
  • Ends: 9 September 2019

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Our little cottage in a bush setting is a haven for ourselves and our animals we share it with. The property is fully fenced with remote gate to enter. Leo our dog watches out for everyone and ensures the goat and the cats are safe and he will be the first to let you know otherwise. A little routine with the animals ensures everyone is well and happy. As the cottage is small cleanliness is of utmost importance. Rubbish is not collected in Langkawi therefore you need to take rubbish down to the large bins in the village when full.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Although we live in a little cottage the land is large. There is enough room for everyone plus the wild animals that appear now and again. Apart from feeding of the animals and keeping the place in a clean manner a mower needs to be run over the lower half of the property if the grass starts to get a little long. Leo our dog is a bit of a wanderer so be careful when you leave the property that he is not following you.

What are the good features of the property and location

Our little house is very private surrounded in bush with very little traffic noise from the main road. The only thing you tend to hear is the birds and insects. The gardens are filled with frangipanis and hibiscus trees for a tropical look and feel. Langkawi is a small island and is easy to find your way around. Our place is on the Thai side of the island and is located where most of the tourist destinations are and not far from one of the nicer beaches on the island. We have a small vehicle available for use. Our village is very small and although everyone is very friendly they tend to keep to themselves. There is a small store down the road where you can buy a small amount of vegetables and fruit. Talaga Harbour is situated about 6 minutes drive from our house where there are several restaurants that you can go to while sitting outside on the waters edge.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

August temperatures are usually in the lower 30’s to high 20s during the day and only falling slightly for the evening. There are many wild monkeys, wild dogs, wild pigs in and around our area. Please do not feed any of them where ever you are on the island. For reference there are three studio units on our property which one of them is rented. The tenant will come and go and has her own gate key. So no need for alarm if the gate opens without you doing anything.

Last updated: 19 July 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

A wonderful place on the edge of the jungle with great pets, great communication from start to finish

Jurgen and Michele picked us up from the airport when we arrived on Langkawi and drove us the short distance to their lovely smallholding which they have built from scratch and introduced us to Leo, Cola,Missy and Thomas, we immediately felt as if we were staying with family, we could not of been made more welcome. The pets are a pleasure to take care of, Leo is a very alert and intelligent dog who patrols the land and accompanies you around the grounds we were very taken with his companionship, Cola likes to be fussed and does a lot of talking she has some human like qualities while Missy likes to do her own thing and can disappear for long periods but always shows up for feeding she really enjoys a small saucer of milk, Thomas seemed to enjoy being groomed and we took him for a walk around the grounds they are all easy to care for and great fun animals. We were on the edge of the jungle and enjoyed the varied wildlife on a daily basis we were visited by much wildlife including monkeys,Hornbills,monitors and countless colourful butterflies. Jurgen and Michele are very hard working and have built a lovely home and some vacation rentals on their land, land which they take great care of with lovely flower beds and well tended garden areas, the accommodations was great in every way we had everything we needed and were extremely comfortable. Jurgen and Michele kindly invited us to arrive a couple of days before the house sit and to stay in one of their jungle cabins which was very clean,tidy, modern and built to a good standard with a stylish shower, comfy double bed and western style kitchen, we were also able to explore the whole island in a car provided by Jurgen and Michele, there is a lot of cool places to see on Langkawi including the worlds steepest cable car, waterfalls and many beaches, there are also many places to eat and drink nearby it is a very cheap island for going out, the locals are warm and friendly. We enjoyed our evening conversations and .a few cold beers on the veranda surrounded by the noises of nature, we were also introduced and treated to a meal with their family and old friends they are very genuine and hospitable people who we now consider our buddies, we hope to be invited back to house sit again. “ Whatever ever happens guys we will meet again” much love to you all Laraine and Ged xx

Laraine, United Kingdom, 26 June, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

A great memory

It's our first house-sit, and it wouldn't have been better! Michelle and Jurgen's home in Langkawi is a secluded shelter for those who would like to escape from the bustle and hustle of modern life. It's a simple yet cozy home for people and animals. Michelle and Jurgen are very easy-going, compassionate and considerate. They also have a lot of interesting stories to tell. They gave us detailed instructions and alway responded to our questions promptly. We totally enjoyed taking care of Leo, Missy, Cola and Thomas. They are sweet happy creatures, giving us affection and trust. We can see they have been loved and well treated. We've already missed them a lot! We had been to Langkawi before, but this time it's given us a totally different experience and a great memory! Thank you very much, Michelle and Jurgen! We will be happy to go back again, either as house-sitters or friends :)

Zoe, , 04 April, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions