Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Look After 7 Rescue Dogs in The Lake District

United Kingdom, Selside, South Lakeland, England

Pets

  • Dog(s)

I have 7 rescue dogs, one kept separate from rest, one very nervous

Duration

  • Dates: variable

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I returned to the UK in November 2020 after 14 years of living abroad and brought 8 rescue dogs back with me. One has now bee re-homed to a friend but the remaining dogs live with me, and range from young terrier type to ancient large sheep dog type. Some need decent amount of exercise, some are happy with a quick outside break every so often and slonking on the sofa. Or just chilling in the sun in the garden. One needs to be kept separate from the others and the house is set up for this with baby gates and there are separate areas outside.

I have one older dog living in the barn and he just needs letting out into the field in the morning and putting away each evening.

There is a secure acre and a half field and another smaller compound they can go in to run around so you do not need to walk the dogs, although welcome to take a couple of the easier ones out. There is also a secure dog barn with outside area if the weather is not great.

In the past I have had someone or a couple come and stay for longer periods of time (month or two) so they can get to know the dogs and routine but also help with gardening and DIY and stuff around the property. Then when I can get away its means I can go on fairly short notice for a couple of days or a week etc with the house sitters staying to look after the dogs. Otherwise when I am around if the house sitters want to go off for a few days exploring that's fine also. So coming for a longer period is also an option. Indeed depending on how we get along anything from one to 3 months to allow me to travel over winter.

Would suit someone or a couple that wanted an "outdoor lifestyle" and were happy to spend periods plodding around in garden, reading outside if weather nice, maybe an artist etc...someone quiet as a couple of the dogs are nervous but who has time to spend time with them.

And confident with dogs for when I go away but happy with company (me) when I am around. But I do work, mostly from home but at times need to go into office and am often out and about and the house is big enough for you to have your own space and own lounge/office/studio for doing art/yoga/online work etc....plenty of space in barn if do craft stuff. BUT THIS MUST BE SECONDARY TO CARING FOR THE DOGS. YOU CANNOT COME AND EXPECT TO WORK FULL TIME LEAVING THE DOGS UNATTENDED OR LOCKED IN THEIR ROOM FOR HOURS ON END.

A couple of the dogs are fairly nervous, one in particular and they are escape artists given half the chance so instructions need to be followed to the "T" and gates and doors kept shut as required at all times. But it is all set up with this in mind.

Anyone that wanted to come and help build a chicken coop, paint murals on some walls etc.............landscape garden etc.

All food and drink provided in return for helping and dog sitting as needed. Plenty of time for going off exploring the Lakes.

Your own car would be an advantage as I am about 10 miles from nearest town but a car could be hired if needed for shorter periods or I can just ensure you are stocked up well for when I am away.

Dates are flexible and all current travel plans covered.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Responsibilities

When I am away: -

Feeding dogs, cleaning up after dogs (poo collection in garden)
Must stick to how dogs are fed and walked and let out. Very important.
Walk dogs and/and or exercise others in garden/field and spend time with them.
Give house quick hoover of dog hair every few days (downstairs only) and keep kitchen etc tidy.
Bit of help in garden, possibly. Watering of plants.
And if able and want to and maybe wanted to come for a longer stay, help with DIY and landscaping and building.

What are the good features of the property and location

The house just a few miles outside of Kendal, right on the edge of the Lakeland fells. The views are amazing. Supermarkets and the lovely old town of Kendal a 5 minute drive away.

There are a couple of neighbours but otherwise on its own, surrounded by 2 acres of land that is with property, agricultural buildings and fields of sheep.

Decent broadband, Netflix, Amazon prime etc. Not great phone reception.

Lots of walking right on door step.

Dogs have their own room to sleep in.

You will have your own bedroom and bathroom with bath and shower. And own lounge if desire.

Ideal if you want peace and quiet, like to potter in the garden, pet dogs, read or just want to chill binge watching series with several dogs on the sofa with you.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Must be confident with lots of dogs
Able to follow instructions carefully.
Need to be fairly fit and active as a lot of dogs to exercise and get out but not necessary to walk, but be outside whatever weather with them for periods.
Need own car if want to get into town or go anywhere. No bus routes and no shops within walking distance. But when I am about not a problem to run you to station so you can catch bus or train to explore.
Must spend time with dogs and they must be number one priority.

Last updated: 6 September 2021
22 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

A home full of love!

I had a wonderful time housesitting for Rachel and her large family of furry friends! Peaceful Bulgarian countryside, lovely home and a beautiful garden. The pack of rescue dogs are an eclectic mix, all with such vibrant personalities and stories. While all of them are sweethearts, big boy Ernie and little houdini Bertie stole my heart! I would certainly house sit for Rachel and her pack of pups anytime! Thank you for hosting me!

Lyndsey, 28 August, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions