Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Dog & garden friendly house sitter wanted

  • Location: Spain, Comares
  • Period available: 3 months, 1 week
  • Starts: 1 August 2018
  • Ends: 14 November 2018
  • Testimonials: They have 1 testimonial (view below)
  • Pets: Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s) – 4 dogs, 2 chickens, 2 cats
  • Last updated: 14 June 2018

About this assignment

We're looking for sturdy people to take care of our dogs and our house from August until November 2018 .

What I'm looking for in a house sitter is mostly someone who loves dogs! We have four: a dalmatian/great dane mix (adorable. And BIG and cuddly, so if you don't like big dogs you really won't enjoy this), a podenco (medium sized Spanish dog) and two small delightful mixes. Which doesn’t begin to dewcribe how much I adore them. Also have 2 cats, very sweet ginger and a very cuddly black cat, and 2 chickens.

Picture 1 is the view from our terrace, pic 2 is the big dog, pic 3 is Comares, the village nearby. I have more pics if you like,.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Take care of the four dogs, two chickens, and two cats, and make sure the plants get their water. (I love my roses and I'd hate for them to die)

 

What are the good features of the property and location

We absolutely love it here, it's very tranquil, lots of birds and walks, beautiful views, pretty fast internet connection (we use it for work so it has to be), we are walking distance (10-15 min) from 2 good bars that do lovely food and there's a riding school quite near.
There's yoga, piano lessons, Sevillana dancing, open mike nights.
It's a lovely area, our neighbours keep goats that actually make their way past our garden. Don't worry, it's all completely fenced in.
our neighbors are very kind. They love to have a chat, so if you happen to speak Spanish, that would be a bonus! 
We have rather a small house, one bedroom, 2 bathrooms (one en suite and one with a cast iron roll top bath) in the house. (We have another junk room filled with boxes and gym equipment. one day that will be our office. Well that's the plan anyway!)

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Our drive is quite steep. Our garden as well. I would not recommend it for elderly people or small children. SOme people find it scary to drive down, there is a little lay by on the road. Where you can park if you prefer.

We'll leave gas bottles behind, cooking and hot water use gas, but if that runs out, you'll have to get some more: gas bottles are delivered every Tuesday, (gas bottles are about 17 euros a piece and should last 3 weeks)

It's very secluded. Buses go once a day, 7 in the morning, to Málaga and one to Torre del Mar. That's it. We live in the hamlet next to Comares, which is gorgeous, and about a 45 minute walk.

You can park a car on the road, in a lay by, or rent a 4x4, or consider foregoing having a car. There are little vans that come with fruit and veg and beer and fish to our hamlet a couple of times a week, so you won't starve. There's a nice bar that does cheap and cheerful Spanish food. There's a proper supermarket in Comares, (and about 8 other bars and restaurants and a pharmacy) but that is a 45 min walk, so to get all your shopping in and carry it home on your back may be strenuous.

Testimonials

Lovely house on the top of the world

Liz and Tycho are a great couple, and we can certainly see why they moved to the house in the hills above Malaga. The view is to die for and when the sun is coming up on a clear day, it makes for some very nice picturesque moments. The drive to the house is not easy (don't trust Google, AVOID driving through Colmenar), but it's reasonably close to both Malaga, Marbella and Granada, with plenty to see. The 4 dogs are super friendly and each has a very special personality. The 2 cats are both very cuddly and follow the classic credo of "if it fits...". The chicken was at one point sitting on ten eggs, which is quite nice. As we have arrived in February, which was still quite cold (and VERY rainy), Liz made sure we have enough wood for the fireplace and we're very grateful, as we went through most of it. Overall, the best sitting we could have wished for this spring.

Daniel, Czech Republic, 13 March, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions
Discover an adventure today - Register now.

Top